PDA

View Full Version : Xp wont boot. HELP PLS



uuili
04-15-2007, 06:31 PM
My XP fails to boot into any mode. I checked the box in msconfig to start windows in safe mode. When i restarted the pc, it wouldnt boot into safe mode or the most recent config. Basically it cycles from the startup screen to the screen where it gives me the options of safe mode etc.

How can I 'uncheck' the box in msconfig without booting up??

Please help :confused:

Variable
04-15-2007, 06:56 PM
Checking the box /safeboot just boots into safe mode on the next reboot. Have you tried to let it boot normally i.e. not hitting F8?
Having the /safeboot option does not cause a computer to fail to boot. Why did you try to boot into safemode?

uuili
04-15-2007, 07:10 PM
Hi
I tried to boot in safe mode because I have spyware and wanted to get rid of that.

I did try F8 originally but couldnt get it to work, that is why i tried the mscofig route.

Is there any way this can be solved?

Thanks for the reply

Variable
04-15-2007, 07:24 PM
Insert your XP Cd and boot to the Recovery Console
http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/recovery_console_overview.mspx?mfr=true

Then use the bootcfg command to rebuild

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=317521

hrmm /default may work too..

uuili
04-15-2007, 07:32 PM
default?? LOL I am a female, this won't be easy for me :p

By the way, does the rebuild have any affect on saved files?

uuili
04-15-2007, 08:02 PM
Hi VARIABLE:
Thank you for your help, I have managed to boot!!
BUT I am still unable to boot in safe mode to get rid of spyware.
Any suggestions?
Also, I now have two 'Microsoft Windy XP Home Edition', one of which is the rebuild and the other 'defective' version. Is there any way i can delete or make a default selection instead of having to choose when when booting up?

PrntRhd
04-15-2007, 08:10 PM
For the spyware, post a HiJackThis log in Applications & Security so the readers can see what we are working with.
http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/threat_analytics/hijackthis.php

Edit: Already has a thread in progress here:
http://www.pcguide.com/vb/showthread.php?t=55955

uuili
04-15-2007, 08:15 PM
PrntRhd

I have posted a log here

http://www.pcguide.com/vb/showthread.php?t=55955

I cant get into safe mode to follow the posted suggestion

Variable
04-15-2007, 08:20 PM
Right click My Computer, Properties, Advanced tab, Click Settings in the Startup and Recovery section, Select the install you want to load and uncheck the Time to display list of operating system.

uuili
04-15-2007, 08:26 PM
Oh no! I selected the wrong option in the settings. I am back to my same problem again! :mad:

uuili
04-16-2007, 08:52 AM
Problem solved, thanks to all who helped