PDA

View Full Version : A+ certification

Marc
11-13-2000, 11:09 PM
Hello everyone, I am new to the board. I do have a major love for technology and computers. I currently am a government employee. I seek to go into the IT field. I believe that this certification will give me the chance to get my foot in the door. I don't have a ton of computer repair experience. I have some knowledge. The course is offered here in a 5 day 40 hour crash course and then the exam. I am wondering if I can learn all of this info in 5 days? My goal is to obtain this, get in the IT door of my job and then learn on the job. If I can pass this test, does this sound like a decent plan?? I mean in all honesty, how much will I really obtain in a 5 day crash course??

Thanks, Marc

Paleo Pete
11-13-2000, 11:46 PM
Not sure how good a 5 day crash course would be, judguing by the A+ study guides I have I'd be a bit leary about trying to learn enough to pass the test that quick. Maybe if you already have a solid background in computers...

My advice would be to search the local resale shops, flea markets and garage sales for cheap obsolete computers to practice on, try and build/rebuild a few 386/486 machines, and see how much you can learn in the process. Nothing like hands-on experience...

Also while you're in the resale shops, grab every book in sight that has anything to do with computer repair, DOS, Windows, etc. and become a regular fixture in your local library. Learn DOS and Windows 9x inside out.

After you spend 6 months to a year reading and working on every older computer you can find, you might be able to take the 5 day course and pass the test, with the backup of all the things you pick up when you have to actually make a few dead computers work. You start to remember standard IRQ addresses, fdisk/format procedure, installation procedures, common errors etc.

If you try the 5 day course without some background, all I can say is you'd better have a real good memory...