PDA

View Full Version : Computer won't start



Meg Mercer
09-14-2000, 01:45 AM
I have a Monorail 350 mHz computer. A few times it wouldn't start when I pushed the power button. If I played with the power cord &/or switched it with another, I could get the computer to turn on.

Now, nothing I do will turn the computer on. I have tried changing power strips, power plugs, unhooking power to different components, and to no avail. I suspect either the power supply, the motherboard, or the power switch, although I can't imagine that the power supply would just quit with no forewarning.

Can anyone guide me on how to check continuity, resistance, voltage, or whatever is needed to locate what power is getting to where? I have a multitester, but don't know much about how to use it on a computer.

Thanks,
Meg

Charles Kozierok
09-14-2000, 09:40 PM
This is a bit out of my league, and I can't really advise you on electrical testing within the box. Assuming this is an ATX system, I would bet on the power button being gone. You can check to see if the motherboard is getting power from the supply (the 5V standby should be live even if the power is off) but I can't explain how to do that safely in words, so I won't.
Honestly, this is the sort of thing for which a trip down to a local PC shop is a good idea. A reputable one iwll be willing to check something like this out inexpensively. Just tell them you suspect a bad power switch and ask them to test it for you. Sorry not to have a better answer but it's tricky playing with PS issues.

------------------
Charles M. Kozierok
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...
Note: Please reply to my forum postings here on the forums. Thanks.

Paleo Pete
09-14-2000, 11:15 PM
I agree with ixl, this is one you should have checked by a reputable shop. I'd bet I have the voltages listed somewhere in this stack of books, but I'd also bet you wouldn't like it much if you got zapped...I'd rather send you to a shop than risk that.

http://www.zing.com/picture/pf6b0795b25a6c3b3085c5cc19f8532af/ff87923f.gif.orig.gif

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Meg Mercer
09-14-2000, 11:39 PM
Okay, you talked me into it! I'll take the computer into the shop. I would prefer to solve this myself, especially since my other computer decided to have the same problem. How discouraging!

Thanks so much for your help. I hope it is just a switch.

Meg