PDA

View Full Version : System won't restart...



hiredgoonz
12-31-2001, 10:46 AM
Here's a weird one...built a new system yesterday: Soyo SY-K7V Dragon Plus mobo with the KT266A chipset and an Athlon XP 1600+ w/512MB DDR...installed WinXP...

The system will shutdown, but will not restart. It shows the whole "Logging out" and "Saving your Settings" and then the screen goes blank, but then there is no powerdown and no restart.

Already checked the Soyo website and MSKB, but this is a new one, any ideas?

There are no hardware conflicts, all my drivers are digitally signed and it seems to me that if a service or driver were not shutting down properly, it would affect my shutdown as well as restart, but only restart is not working...thanks

------------------
When all else fails, read the instructions.

bassman
12-31-2001, 12:03 PM
Hmmmmm, that is weird. I have this happen to me sometimes on my Compaq when trying to Shutdown, but not on a restart. Usualy involves a high heat condition(laptop).
Does it happen every time? Do you have to hold the power button down to kill it and then restart? Could XP have some power management or other settings that effect the Restart feature?
If I'm not mistaken, the Start, Restart, Standby, Hibernate functions are part of the OS, so that would narrow down where you need to look.
I remember a while back, a rash of question with ME and Hibernation haveing a very similar problem. Maybe a lookthru MSKB on that topic would give some info that might help you.
Good luck HG http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/cool.gif

------------------
Please go HERE (http://www.pcguide.com/ubb/Forum10/HTML/000225.html)
Frank's Place (http://www.members.aol.com/frankscompsrvice)

hiredgoonz
12-31-2001, 12:19 PM
Thanks for the tips and well wishes, bassman...

After hours of research, I have found the following, suggested fixes do NOT work: selecting No to PnP OS in the BIOS, disabling onboard sound, assigning IRQ to VGA, disabling Video Shadowing...(although I was happy to see that other people have the same problem)

M$ Knowledge Base has a similar problem with shutdown, but it is not the same thing I am experiencing and it occurs during shutdown and restart, my only problem is restart...

That is the trickiest part...shutdown probs are common, but when shutdown works and restart fails, that is weird...

I can't even flash my BIOS, the newest version is the one that came with the board. It's a new board, so hopefully this issue will be common enough that it will be fixed soon. I guess in the grand scheme of things it's a small problem...

------------------
When all else fails, read the instructions.

mjc
12-31-2001, 02:15 PM
Does it do it if you <ctrl><alt><del> it or just when you select the restart option?

How about when rebooting after installing something?

What is running before log in (like ZA or an AV)?

------------------
mjc
Links list:Computer Links (http://www.dreamwater.org/tech/mjc/index.htm)

Celts are the men that heaven made mad, For all their battles are merry and their songs are all sad.

hiredgoonz
12-31-2001, 03:00 PM
It does it during any restart (after program installation, CTRL+ALT+DEL, selecting Restart from Start menu) it actually started during the WinXP installation when the installer tried to restart the system...

Nothing running on startup except ZA, Task Manager, and the Sound Card Mixer program, but these have all been shut off with no change and the problem appeared before any of them were installed...

I'm leaning toward a Power Management issue either in BIOS or Windows or a problem with the way the BIOS handles IRQ monitoring and system wakeup events...

------------------
When all else fails, read the instructions.

hiredgoonz
01-13-2002, 05:28 PM
Not that it really matters to anybody but me http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif but the problems with this system are fixed...

As it turns out, all of my problems were the result of having an AGP and PCI video card installed at the same time...this configuration is not workable on this mobo with this chipset...

Now I am the happy owner of a Radeon7500 with dual outputs, 64mb of DDR and performance stunningly superior to my Voodoo5...

Thanks for all the suggestions...in then end, 3 phone calls to Soyo solved the problem...sometimes you just have to go to the source

------------------
When all else fails, read the instructions.