PDA

View Full Version : Okay- What is this site? - moved


Ajmukon
11-01-2007, 10:49 PM
h t t p :// www. giveaway of the day. com/

hopefully it will not parse....

McAfee site advisor say "Good" As well as some friends (and one of them had his dad looked into it..)
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/giveawayoftheday.com?ref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.5_6176&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=105-72

i have heard good things (but as always i exercise cuation...) :rolleyes:

from what i can tell.. this site offers free licensed programs for only one day (and it can only be activated during that day) in an attempt to get software sold (like a free promotional)...

any thoughts? (it has had some very nice programs in the past and it also had some nasty ones..)

i am posting this because i am not sure if this site is legit, or distributing "cracked" software

Budfred
11-01-2007, 11:18 PM
If I remember, it is a legit site... If you have Firefox, visit it and see if it works with NoScripts turned on full... If it doesn't, it is trying to run scripts, so check and see what scripts are being blocked... Chances are good that if SiteAdvisor says it is okay, it is not malicious...

And please post stuff about computers in PC World...

mjc
11-01-2007, 11:21 PM
It is legit...and exactly like you said. They give away a full version of a certain program, each day and only for that day. Often times, it isn't the latest version of the software and you may not have an upgrade path, but the version you get is unencumbered...

They also get their software direct from the vendor/publisher. It is all for promotion, of course. It is done in the hope that the download will inspire you to buy the latest/greatest or other software by the same company.

Ajmukon
11-01-2007, 11:23 PM
it is legit???!!!
now all i have to do is wait for a program that i want to show up...
thanks budfred!

(Just out of curiosity, how does this site work- is it promotional like i suspect it is?) EDIT: MJC answered question

as for posting- i had no clue where to post it so "after hours club" seemed good