PDA

View Full Version : reclocking a Gateway athlon 1100



Dan Mitchell
05-18-2001, 11:20 AM
I just got a new gateway PC & am wondering if there is anything to be gained by reclocking the Athlon 1100 CPU. I understand the ease with which this is done depends on the motherboard, which I have not investigated yet. Does anyone have any particular experience reclocking recent gateway athlons, or general comments/referals on the matter?

Thanks,

Dan

tjaymadison
05-18-2001, 11:39 AM
Wow, Dan!! Seems like you're really playing with fire here.

Particularly since the new system is probably (?) still under warranty.

Even if you only 'cook' something minor, it could be expensive if you can only get it from Gateway.

To each his own, I guess. Good luck, whichever way you go.

------------------
"I am not able to rightly apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question."
-- Charles Babbage, mathematician, computer pioneer, analytical engine designer (1791-1871)
-- (Question: 'Pray, Mr. Babbage, if you put into the machine wrong figures, will the right answers come out?')

hiredgoonz
05-18-2001, 01:35 PM
I'm going to recommend www.tomshardware.com (http://www.tomshardware.com) for any questions on Athlon overclocking...he has numerous articles and how-tos dedicated to this, but what it boils down to is you can overclock by changing the multiplier or the fsb...

Since this is a Gateway board designed for the non-DDR Athlon, the only fsb it likely supports is 100, so you're probably out of luck there...

With the Athlon t-birds, you can reconnect the l1 bridges on the cpu die with a solder pencil, NOT A SOLDERING IRON, but a small pen that you can get at radio shack that is designed to reconnect broken traces on electronics components...to do this you have to remove the heatsink/fan from the cpu and then reattach it when you're done...

Once this is done, you should be able to set the multiplier to whatever you want in either the bios or by moving jumpers on the mobo (only up to 12, I think) so you're only going to gain 100mhz...less than a 10% increase in exchange for possibly destroying the cpu and most definitely voiding your warranty...

I would research this heavily and try to get a mobo manual for your system from gateway...you used to be able to download them in pdf format, but I'm not sure now...they don't like you to mess with your system that much...

Personally, I wouldn't bother, the performance increase will most likely be barely noticeable, if at all, but if you've got your mind set on doing it...tom's hardware is the place to look for guidance...just be careful...

Dan Mitchell
05-18-2001, 02:21 PM
Thanks for the replies, the situation sounds pretty much as I suspected. No doubt any tweaking WOULD void the warranty. I'm not playing with fire quite yet, just thinking about it ;-) My previous PC was a 90mhz pentium with 16m of ram and a 1 gig HD. Considering the new athlon w/128m of ram and a 40 gig hd is not the several orders of magnitude faster than the old I had hoped for, I suspect you're correct about the "diminishing returns" such a change would return at the cost of no warranty (this observation may be a bit skewed, since so far I've used it mainly on the Internet, which of course is limited to the connect speed in any case. I have noticed it loads & redraws images in imaging programs faster, & no doubt games etc. would be quicker).

Thanks for the suggestion about downloading the MB info, should be interesting just out of curiosity if available. I'll check it out.

Dan

sea69
05-19-2001, 01:40 AM
hi


;-) My previous PC was a 90mhz pentium with 16m of ram and a 1 gig HD. Considering the new athlon w/128m of ram and a 40 gig hd is not the several orders of magnitude faster than the old I had hoped for

If you do not see a ENTIRE PLANETS worth of increase between the two machines you have described, then something is
REAL >>> w r o n g!!

unless you're talking about your internet speed, (and that sounds like what you mean)...... if you have the same speed connection as you did with your 'dinosaur'- then you will not really see much difference in how web sites load, or anything internet related. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/eek.gif

sorry if I burst a bubble....lol
'
http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
sea1_69@hotmail.com

homepage (http://www.seanweb1.homestead.com/3.html)




[This message has been edited by sea69 (edited 05-19-2001).]

hiredgoonz
05-19-2001, 02:31 AM
Yeah...and if you didn't see a difference going from 90mhz to 1100mhz (a difference of over a gigahertz), what do you think the odds are you'll notice a 100mhz difference??? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

yawningdog
05-19-2001, 07:39 AM
Check out motherboards.org. There's a column there called "Doc Overclock". He can talk about this stuff until you have to cram a sock in his mouth. My retailer has informed me, by the way, that he has seen overclocked socketA chips burn up after about six months as a result.

------------------
Make everything as simple as possible, but no simpler.

sea69
05-19-2001, 01:55 PM
and according to our resident expert on AMD,(not me ..yet..lol) an ATHLON chip can be 'cooked' in 6 or 7 seconds, if it gets too hot.

------------------
sea1_69@hotmail.com

homepage (http://www.seanweb1.homestead.com/3.html)




[This message has been edited by sea69 (edited 05-19-2001).]

Dan Mitchell
05-19-2001, 03:55 PM
Yeah, I don't think it's really worth the risk for the minor speed increase, but I thought I'd ask http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif I was planning to stick in one of the bigger aftermarket chip coolers if I did this to minimize danger. Probably as well off getting another 128m of ram (now have 128).

Thanks for the interesting replies.

Dan

sea69
05-19-2001, 04:03 PM
sorry, just one more thing..... out of 'curiosity'.. what was your old OS, and what is your new one ??

(OS= operating system.. win98, 98se, ME..)

------------------
sea1_69@hotmail.com

homepage (http://www.seanweb1.homestead.com/3.html)

Dan Mitchell
05-20-2001, 04:24 PM
Sea69 said "sorry, just one more thing..... out of 'curiosity'.. what was your old OS, and what is your new one ?? (OS= operating system.. win98, 98se, ME..)"

And, what does PC stand for again? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Old OS was win95, upgraded from 3.1. New one is ME (which so far I can't say I care for toooooo much. In my relatively brief experience with ME it seems to lock up as much as 95 did, plus do a lot a crap behind the user's back in the name of idior proofing, which I'd prefer it didn't.

Why do you ask?

Dan

sea69
05-21-2001, 06:34 AM
PC= 'Pretty Cool ?? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

well there you have part of the reason for it being slow.

you went from the fastest M$ OS, to the s l o w e s t http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/eek.gif

(sorry about above 'definition', didn't mean to offend.)

http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
sea1_69@hotmail.com

homepage (http://www.seanweb1.homestead.com/3.html)

[This message has been edited by sea69 (edited 05-21-2001).]