PDA

View Full Version : New at this

Nutchaya
12-22-2007, 04:43 AM
I'm quite new at everything about computers, be it software or hardware. Could someone please explain overclocking with some details, but without using words that a beginner won't know? Also, how do we overclock our hardware?
Any explanations would be greatly appreciated, no matter how short (or long, I like to read).
By the way, in case you're wondering, no, I am not trying to run Crysis on an old laptop. It's just that computer engineering is one of the fields of interest I have, and may be my career in the future.

yawningdog
12-22-2007, 10:54 AM
Processor chips (and most other chips) are burned in batches of about 100-200 on a single silicon wafer and at about 30-40 wafers at a time. They then install the chip on the package (PGA is the current favorite) and test it. They start with a low clock speed and build up. As soon as they reach the clock speed at which a threshold temperature is maintained, they configure the chip for that speed (and generally all the chips in that batch) and ship it. Then they tweak the manufacturing process to try and make the next batch of chips faster and cooler and repeat the process.

Generally chips can run at a higher speed than the factory threshold, and this is the premise of over clocking. The theory is that you can add speed and heat to a chip without any real danger to the chip except to void the warranty. And if you build a more elaborate cooling system, you can over clock even more.

I over clocked an AMD Duron several years ago and had less-than-earth-shattering results. I'm sure there are different methods for over clocking each different chip, and there are sure to be many "experts" here that will be happy to talk about it until you stuff a sock in their mouth, but I personally don't recommend it except to say that you've done it and move on.

SufferWell1396
12-22-2007, 12:00 PM
I'm with yawningdog.