PDA

View Full Version : web site scam


adz0rz
01-30-2008, 06:55 PM
hey guys, just wondering your views on this website.
looks abit fishy to me, thinking might be a scam
and also looks "to good to be true".
http://www.aoobuy.com
link seems to only work properly in IE for some reason mozilla screws it up
thanks.

Ajmukon
01-30-2008, 07:34 PM
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/aoobuy.com/summary/

it hasn't been looked at.... yet...

Budfred
01-30-2008, 08:27 PM
Also not listed in ResellerRatings... I advise great caution... Scams are multiplying daily...

Sylvander
01-31-2008, 04:26 AM
My "Netcraft" toolbar gives it a "zero risk" rating.
I take that to mean that the SITE is well known to Netcraft with no reason to think the site itself is risky.
I guess Netcraft makes no claims about the trading practices of the site.

Originally set up in China in 2000.
Changed hands 19 times; last time in June 2007 to Steve Heller (http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_report?url=http://besotted.steveheller.com) in Buffalo, USA.

Ajmukon
01-31-2008, 01:48 PM
http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_report?url=aoobuy.com

i like the reverse DNS- anybody else see the word "evil"?
ev1s-75-125-54-122.ev1servers.net

adz0rz
01-31-2008, 06:43 PM
thanks, i might test it out with a really little small order.
the two things that make me suspect it is,
1) VERY low prices on clothes, the shoes on there retail in local shops of mine in england for £60. understand there probably fake but still very cheap.
2) payment is via western union and money gram or bank transfer (dont know what this is)
i have been told to be weary of sites that use western union for payments as friend got scammed by a website that took those kind of payments.
any more feedback greatly appreciated.

johnny_quest
01-31-2008, 07:13 PM
I've never had a credit card that didn't have 0 liability for fraudulant transactions, I'd try it out if you must. But I'm sure bootleg merchandise will show up if anything at all...

SufferWell1396
01-31-2008, 11:01 PM
My "Netcraft" toolbar gives it a "zero risk" rating.
I take that to mean that the SITE is well known to Netcraft with no reason to think the site itself is risky.
I guess Netcraft makes no claims about the trading practices of the site.

Originally set up in China in 2000.
Changed hands 19 times; last time in June 2007 to Steve Heller (http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_report?url=http://besotted.steveheller.com) in Buffalo, USA.

Syl, i find the Netcraft toolbar to be highly unreliable, as I visited many known bad sites with it, and it gave them a "0 risk rating"
as which, aaascreensavers.com (which Site Advisor reports has over 15,000 Red Downloads) is reported with a "0 risk rating".

rond36
02-01-2008, 08:56 AM
I've never had a credit card that didn't have 0 liability for fraudulent transactions, I'd try it out if you must. But I'm sure bootleg merchandise will show up if anything at all...

A $15,000 Rolex Daytona watch for $250, bootleg isn't the word for it!

david eaton
02-01-2008, 09:28 AM
I wouldn't trust any site that only uses Western union or money gram. There is nothing to protect you unlike a credit card.