PDA

View Full Version : pc will not start



texian
09-21-2000, 05:33 PM
can't figure this out. when i boot the pc, the led-green comes on but nothing else. the p/s fan and cpu fan both kick but then stop. they don't actually spin. any ideas? nothing works, just the led-green. no hard drive, no video or sound. already replaced power supply. thinking about replacing m/b and cpu.

[This message has been edited by texian (edited 09-21-2000).]

Paleo Pete
09-22-2000, 12:27 AM
More info would be very helpful. Did this start recently form a previously working system? Is it a system you recently acquired and know nothing about? Are you sure you hooked up the new power supply correctly? What type power supply...AT or ATX?

Sounds like a possible short somewhere. If it were me I'd remove the whole thing from the case, power supply included, and set it up on a table with only motherboard, CPU, memory, video card and keyboard and see if it works. Then I'd start looking for a short somewhere, probably where the motherboard is bolted to the case. If it works with only those components, add one at a time, starting with floppy drive, and make sure everything works out of the case. Then repeat the procedure in the case.

With an AT power supply you'll have two main power plugs that plug into the motherboard. Each has a black wire on one end. These black wires go in the middle, beside each other. Make sure it's hooked up this way.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

[This message has been edited by Paleo Pete (edited 09-21-2000).]

texian
09-22-2000, 09:03 AM
i've had this machine a couple of years now. we had the ac go out a couple of weeks ago and it's been hot. I have the pc on a seperate circuit from every thing else, with surge protector. also at the time i was working on putting a cd-rom in. (i've since taken it out.) the pc would go off, then reboot then go off again, then nothing. this is a va-503+ m/b with an AMD k6-2 300 cpu with 64 mb mem. there is only one connection from the p/s to the m/b (same as old one), except new one is 300w (old was 230w). i've pulled all cards and memory (except 16mb) and still the same. (btw i'm running on an old 486 right now. using same power cable and same connections.) all jumpers and connections are right, at least by the manual. i haven't tried the out of case method yet, will do so later today and let you know. thanx



[This message has been edited by texian (edited 09-22-2000).]

texian
09-24-2000, 01:13 PM
well i tried it out of the case yesterday and still the same. i've tried both p/s and no difference. i'd like to know if it is more likely the m/b OR the cpu. cause i was going to replace the cpu anyway to an amd k6 II 500. but if it's the m/b i'll have to do both. also if i have to replace the m/b what is a good replacement. thanx

Paleo Pete
09-24-2000, 10:14 PM
It's difficult to say whether it would be CPU or board. I would lean toward motherboard, but it's kinda 6 of one, half dozen of the other. If you plan to change CPU anyway, make sure your board supports the one you plan to use, and try it. If it doesn't work you know it's the motherboard.

Check my site, below, and look around. The top link, Trish's, has links to some good motherboard info and a couple of the sites have ratings etc.

CSO (http://www.computersurplusoutlet.com) and Pricewatch (http://www.pricewatch.com) both usually have good deals on hardware.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

texian
09-25-2000, 09:59 AM
thanx anyway. i sure wish i could figure this out. it sure is getting to me. guess i'll just have to forget it and get a new m/b. i'm leaning in that direction as to what's broke.

Paleo Pete
09-26-2000, 01:38 AM
Wish I couold tell you more, but about the only way I know of to prove it's the motherboard or CPU is to plug another one in and flip the switch...

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)