PDA

View Full Version : cmos won't retain settings



jbcomp1
10-01-2000, 04:17 PM
coms dosen't retain settings after the computer is unpluged.i have replased the battery and made sure it is making good contact.plus the jumper is set to normal.any other ideas?thanks

Paleo Pete
10-02-2000, 01:18 AM
Dead battery is the only thing I know of that will make the CMOS lose its settings. Are you sure it's installed correctly, and the polarity is not reversed? If the battery is good and it's installed correctly, I don't know of any reason it wouldn't retain its settings.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

Rayista Geoff
10-02-2000, 06:50 AM
I agree with Pete, although you might double/triple/quadruple check that you have the CMOS clear jumper set correctly.

Paleo Pete
10-02-2000, 10:05 AM
Good call, Rayista...I agree.

Check the clear CMOS jumper.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)