PDA

View Full Version : Did one of these sites give me a virus?


Cuc Tu
12-02-2008, 03:59 PM
I got something last night I think from one of the sites in this google search:

http://www.google.com/search?q=harley192001@yahoo.com&rls=com.microsoft:en-us&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&startIndex=&startPage=1

I clicked the following links:

http://qconlineauction.com/site/view_ad.php?v=212489
http://reader.feedshow.com/show_items-feed=9ffae2d66c3bdd8ef63d60a88e550ec0?page=2
http://pub18.bravenet.com/forum/add.php?usernum=1503991625&reply=1075369&cp=
http://pub18.bravenet.com/forum/1503991625/show/1075369

I have several new exe files in my system32 folder, one is gadcom.exe and SpywareGuard is going nuts with BHO warnings.

I'm getting a mess of browsers opening up and the cpu is pegged at 100%.

Now I'm looking to buy anti-viral software. Hopefully I can save all my pictures from my PC before I format my drive.

:mad:

mjc
12-02-2008, 05:27 PM
DO NOT! post live links for sites suspected of dropping malware!!!!!!!!!

Cuc Tu
12-02-2008, 05:51 PM
How did/do you make them unlive?

mjc
12-02-2008, 07:31 PM
When starting a thread the option should be available...'automatically parse links'. Make sure it isn't checked. Otherwise you need to use the Go Advanced button instead of Quick Reply.

As to the question...yes, any one of them could have...they all are heavy on the scripting.

Ajmukon
12-02-2008, 08:05 PM
hmm.. you should post a Hijack this log to try to get your PC clean before you install AV software.

Classicsoftware would be "happy" to help clean it.

As to the question, as mjc said, yeah.

MC site advisor:
All but the last one came back as green. the last one was "unknown"
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/pub18.bravenet.com
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/feedshow.com/summary
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/qconlineauction.com

BUT: this is not part of one of the site (qconlineauction), and is "untested"
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/qconlineauction.com/site/viewad.phpv212489

could be a "spoof" site