PDA

View Full Version : PS port



dumarest
09-26-2000, 06:30 AM
System - PC standard, but older mother board, dual mouse.
The mouse is on serial port COM1.
I have been told, I have heard, it has been indicated to me, and any other circumlocutions, that, lacking a PS port, one can get an ISA or PCI card that can plug into the motherboard and give me a PS port for my mouse [the mouse can use such a port]. But I can find no such beast.
Why do I want to do this?? to free serial 1 so that I can download from my nice new digital camera, an HP which will download ONLY on COM1.

Charles Kozierok
09-26-2000, 11:42 AM
Dual mouse? Not sure what you mean by that, you have two mice on your system? If so, maybe using a mouse splitter/combiner box will help.
I haven't seen PS/2 mouse ports available as an add-in accessory. BUt you can get add-in additional COM port cards at any largish computer store.

------------------
Charles M. Kozierok
Webslave, The PC Guide (http://www.PCGuide.com)
Comprehensive PC Reference, Troubleshooting, Optimization and Buyer's Guides...
Note: Please reply to my forum postings here on the forums. Thanks.

dumarest
10-01-2000, 06:38 AM
Not two - only one. It will run on either a serial or a PS port. Reason for question - I don't want to buy a new computer just to download my digital camera pictures. The $$!!!&&^$$! HP camera will download ONLY on COM1, and essentially requires an SP mouse with COM1 free [service from HP seems to indicate that it will only work if it is the single COM port device on the system]. So a try for an SP add-in board may be my last hope. Just joking about a new computer, it would have to be a new camera.

Paleo Pete
10-01-2000, 11:20 AM
If the system supports USB you might consider a USB mouse, which would leave COM1 open for the camera...

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)