PDA

View Full Version : Old 486..



fraelorn
09-30-2000, 06:54 PM
Looking to install DOS drivers for an old 486 that is still running
Win 3.1. Can anyone give me some pointers? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/tongue.gif

Bmcdanold
09-30-2000, 07:09 PM
DOS Drivers? meaning what, CDROM drivers? Sound Card Drivers? If you dont have the installation disks, its going to be very difficult to set things up. DOS, unlike windows does not have any drivers built in. One thing you might consider, if its a 33mhz or higher 486 and has at least 16mb ram, is installing Windows 95 on it. If you are interested in doing that, email me at bmcdanold@hotmail.com and i can give you detailed instructions on how to do it.

fraelorn
09-30-2000, 07:28 PM
Those would be mouse drivers... I'm actually a technician myself, Win 9x, and ME. Win 3.1 is pretty much a thing of the past for me, and had never learned how to correctly install DOS drivers of any type..working on the mouse though..

Any pointers?..

Paleo Pete
10-01-2000, 12:14 AM
Drivers for about anything you can think of can be found at WinDrivers (http://http:www.windrivers.com) and WinFiles (http://www.winfiles.com)

Download the correct DOS/Win 3.11 drivers for your mouse, Logitech's drivers work for many, and unzip it into a folder on your hard drive, making sure to use a folder name with 8 characters or less.

In DOS, change to that folder, and locate the install file, and type the name of it at the command prompt. Usually it will be install.exe or setup.exe, although some use mouse.exe or something else. See if the drivers have a readme file, or check for instructions at the webpage where you download the drivers.

If all else fails, write down the filenames in the driver directory, and post them here, I'll try to figure out which is the right executable. Win 3.11 drivers usually have to be installed in DOS, not Windows.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

fraelorn
10-01-2000, 03:37 AM
Alright, thanx alot. I'll look into it. As far as the Win 95 suggestion, this system has 2 mb of ram and a 250 mb hdd, don't think it'll work. Thanks though!

Paleo Pete
10-01-2000, 12:23 PM
Nope, win95 wouldn't work. Win95 requires 4MB RAM minimum, 8MB recommended, and the installation would require more than the hard drive space you have. After installation win95 takes about 85MB, depending on the applications installed, but the setup program takes up a bunch of space temporarily.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)