PDA

View Full Version : DDR on intel?



Kalle
03-08-2001, 05:04 AM
Does Intel support DDR memories?
I saw an ad by asus for a intel PIII/celeron DDR-supporing motherboard.
I tought that intel uses rambus, am I wrong here? This wouldn't be the first time http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif

Randy_tx
03-08-2001, 09:10 AM
To my knowledge, Intel is firmly behind the Rambus approach to next generation memory. AMD has a few motherboards out now that support DDR, but unaware of any by Intel.

------------------
"As hard as a rock & dumb as a brick"...Windows CEMeNT

kid
03-08-2001, 03:43 PM
There are intel motherboards that support DDR. Unfortunately it doesn't help the Intel processors as much as the AMD processors. I believe Chaintech and Soyo make DDR Pentium III motherboards. I suggest you buy a processor with a better price/performance ratio such as the AMD Athlon.

KID member of http://www.mrpcpro.com

Kalle
03-09-2001, 01:44 AM
Randy_tx, I tougth so, but kid, please explain... The DDR is faster than a normal SDRAM on an intel CPU, or is it just as fast? I'm not buing or anything, just curious...
I looked again and at a closer look the ad said that the bus on the AMD motherboard was 266MHz where as the Intel-bus was 133MHz http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif Are they just taking advantage of the "fashionable" east-germans?

Ghost_Hacker
03-09-2001, 10:16 AM
I've heard of this too. In some benchmarks a Pentium 4 with Rambus memory doesn't match a Athlon with DDR memory. Next gen Pentuim fours should correct this problem with the current crop of Athlons.

I don't recall any benchmarks that placed a Pentuim!!! with DDR memory against a Athlon with DDR memory.

------------------
"It's just a whisper in my Ghost"