PDA

View Full Version : Can an internal CD-RW be used with a hardware sampler?

Mac Marty
12-15-2000, 10:04 AM
I've been seeing internal CD-RW's for really cheap and I would really like to get a CD-RW to load and save samples from an Akai S3000XL sampler. I was wondering if anyone knows if internal CD-R can be used with the Akai and if so does anyone know how to do it? Could the CD-RW be used by both the computer and the Akai without having to re-connect anything? If it does work and you do it that way could that set-up cause problems with the computer it's installed in, or does it matter? Thank you

Paleo Pete
12-15-2000, 05:11 PM
OK, knowing you're a PC musician, I'm assuming the Akai sampler is a keyboard of sorts. Strangely enough, I'm a musician and know nothing about samplers...don't get me started about guitars though http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

I think you can use the sampler the same as another periferal with no problems, if it plugs into a midi port and you have the computer set up to use midi, you should be good to go.

As far as using it with CD I'm not sure, but I think the best way to go would be to save whatever peice you want to use as a file, then write it to CD later. No reason that should't work, once you save it as a file it's no different than any other sound file, and should write to a cd the same way. That's for files you create yourself, of course.

Loading samples into the thing might be a horse of a different color, you might be better off with an external, so you can switch from one to the other with no major problems, or just connect a standard CD ROM to the sampler to load from. No reason to have a writer there anyway, it can't write directly to it, or I don't think it can...