PDA

View Full Version : Networking



hastinbc
12-16-2000, 04:31 PM
I have two home PC's, one with a Celeron 533 mghz CPU with a 20GB 7200 rpm disk, and a Compaq KMD 350 mghz CPU with a 4.3 GB 5400 rpm disk. Both have 96 MB of RAM. I have purchased two NIC cards and a thruway cable. I would like to network the two PC's without a hub. I have one printer and would like to share that and disks. I have some networking experience from past jobs (I am in military) with UNIX systems. How do I do this without buying anything else? I don't want or need to share the modems.

sleddog
12-16-2000, 06:42 PM
You don't mention the operating system(s) you're using.... asuming MS Windows, you might look at this site: http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/j_helmig/frameset.htm

hastinbc
12-16-2000, 08:35 PM
The OS on the Celeron 533 PC is Windows 98 SE. The Compaq has factory installed Windows 98 1st edition.

Reid
12-16-2000, 08:50 PM
This Linksys FAQ (http://www.linksys.com/faqs/) is a good source of information. I'm not sure what you mean by a "thruway" cable. Is it 10Base-T?

------------------
reido@my-deja.com

Paleo Pete
12-17-2000, 01:43 AM
How to Network two Win95/98 Computers (http://www.duxcw.com/digest/Howto/network/net2pc/intro.htm)

Win95 Networking FAQ (http://www.wown.com/j_helmig/faq.htm)

LanPArty (http://www.lanparty.com/theguide/network.shtm) Networking Setup.

With RJ45 cable, (10base-T?) you'll need a hub. With BNC (is that right?) which is basically coax, no hub is required. I can't remember all the terms, or details, but I looked some info up for my sister not long ago, thinking she had a NIC installed. Turned out her Compaq only had the driver, but not the card...go figure...Not looking through the links tonight, my internet connection can be outrun by the average turtle...assuming the turtles groggy...

------------------
Soon as I come up with all the answers...they change the questions!!

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

xor_chad
12-17-2000, 04:52 AM
Wat Happening?
Its actually pretty simple.

First, if you do not use a hub, make sure you buy a crossover cable..not a patch cable.
A crossover cable crosses the RX and TX between the two PCs.

Secondly with 98 open Network in the CP and make sure you have TCP/IP and NetBEUI installed for the NIC on each computer.

Also click the File and Printer Sharing button and check both boxes.

Now click the Identification tab and make sure the workgroup is the same for both PCs.

Back on the Configuration tab double-click the TCP/IP for the NIC.
On the IP Address tab choose Specify IP address and fill in 192.168.1.1 and a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0.
Do the same on the other PC except make the IP 192.168.1.10.

Now OK out of all this and let it reboot. When you reboot you should be good to go. Laters...

PS.
Make sure you share something else you wont see anything in net view.

------------------
Chad Wilson
C++/ASM Programmer
PC Support Technician

hastinbc
12-17-2000, 11:50 PM
Thanks to all for all the good info. I do have a "crossover" cable. Don't know where I came up with the term "thruway".... My only concern is that when I turn on print and file sharing, will I be vulnerable when I gout on Internet via modem? I have a 10/100 Mbps PCI Ethernet card in each PC.

Paleo Pete
12-18-2000, 06:26 AM
Zone Alarm (http://www.zonelabs.com) will minimize any threat of outside connections while on the internet. Whether you have a network or not, security on the net these days is a risk, so it's better to have something there to help make it safer with either a network or a stand-alone machine.

Gibson Research (http://grc.com/default.htm) has a very good page, with a link to Sheilds Up, which will test your ports before and after.

------------------
Soon as I come up with all the answers...they change the questions!!

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

xor_chad
12-19-2000, 05:41 PM
How
Another suggestion is to put passwords on ALL shares.
Not simple passwords like "password", make them hard...real hard.
There are brute force utilities that run and can crack easy dictionary word passwords in seconds. Also dont name your shares things like "real important secret information", need i say why. Laters...

------------------
Chad Wilson
C++/ASM Programmer
PC Support Technician

Paleo Pete
12-20-2000, 07:18 AM
Glad you posted that chad, passwords are something most people give too little consideration to, and all to often use their dog's name, kids' names or nicknames, etc. Those can be cracked in seconds with a bit of determination and the right software.

If you want security, use an 8-10 character password that's a combination of letters and digits. But stay away from capitol letters, passwords are case sensitive, and it's too easy to forget the capitol is there, or miss the shift key.

------------------
Soon as I come up with all the answers...they change the questions!!

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)