PDA

View Full Version : CHS?!



gidyeo
10-27-2000, 11:17 AM
Something bad has happen to both my girlfriend's and my ex-PC!

Recently i bought a Quantum 7.5GB AT Fireball Lct 15 harddisk for my exPC bcos i thought that my exPC's harddisk crash (i.e. beyond repair). When i try to install the new Quantum Fireball (QF), the BIOS was not able to detect the harddisk. i thought maybe there're bad sectors on the harddisk so i've decided to wait to try it on another PC.

My chance came when i have a chance to give my gf's PC a "clean sweep" (reformat). And when i try the QF on my gf's PC, it (BIOS) is able to detect the harddisk and perform low-level format. but when i try to reboot, something really bad happened!

When i "save and exit CMOS (not to sure what's the term)", the PC went for sleep mode (the monitor became stand-by mode itself), so i switch the PC off by pressing the switch as the reset buttom somehow cannot work. When the computer start running again, i insert a Win95 startup floppy and try to install Win95. But when the floppy drive read the drive, the monitor shows "NO-SYSTEM DISK...." (sort of). And when i look at the hardware data it shows "CHS, mode 4, 7510MB (figures not too sure, but approx. 7.5GB)" under Pri. Master Disk.

Question :


[list=1]
Is both the PCs affected by virus?
If yes, is there any cure?
What should i do now, can the QF be used again?
What is the cost to troubleshoot this matter?
[/list=a]

thanx! http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

jangolion
10-27-2000, 11:50 AM
need more information as to what type of computer you both have but i suspect in the bios it is not set to LBA or LARGE mode to facilitate a larger hard drive

and are you sure you put in a booty disk- because the non-system disk error means the disk you put in doesnt have the system files IO.sys msdos.sys and command.com which are the minimum system files required to boot into dos ofcourse you'll also need some external dos command fdisk and format to partition and format the drive .

first of all i hope you back up both disk if you wanter to retain any of the data on the drive lost to formatting.

First make sure the jumper is set in the back to master then use the boot disk with those system files go into the bios and set it to LBA/LARGE and set the boot order to read A: drive first save settings and exit........ then go into dos type in C: [enter] then once you are there C: type dir to see if there is any contents on the hard disk... tell me if you see any files or if you get this far........ http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

gidyeo
10-27-2000, 12:09 PM
i've got a
"Disk I/O error"
"Replace the disk, and then press any key"
msg after done what u have said.
What should i do now?

btw i insert another floppy (Win98 startup disk) and it still shows non-system disk or disk error. What should i do?

[This message has been edited by gidyeo (edited 10-27-2000).]

Jerkymom
10-27-2000, 12:40 PM
Your new QF drive is formatted and empty, right? It sounds like you need to run fdisk to set up the primary partition and then set it active so the computer can read it.

Can you boot to the A:\> prompt with the Win95 startup floppy? If so, type fdisk and hit Enter. Choose the option to "Display Partition Information" and see if you have a primary DOS partition set up. If you do, hit ESC key on your keyboard to go back to the fdisk main menu, and then choose option to "Set Active Partition" for the drive. If the partition is already active, fdisk will just tell you that. If you do not have a primary DOS partition set, you will have to create one and then set it active.

Try this and post back what happened so we can keep trying to help you.

Good Luck! http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif
Kim

gidyeo
10-27-2000, 01:00 PM
Thanx for all of u all's help! http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

i've done the Fdisk and later when i restart the PC and run Fdisk again and display the partition information, i get:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Partition - C:1
Status - A
Type - PRI DOS
Volume Label - (empty)
Mbytes - 2047 (i thought i have 7.5GB, where r the rest?)
System - Unknown
Usage - 29%

Total disk space is 7154 Mbytes (1 Mbyte = 1048576 bytes)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And when i type c: to switch to C drive and do DIR/W it shows:
Invalid media type reading drive C
Abort, Retry, Fail?_
What does it mean? What should i do? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif

Jerkymom
10-27-2000, 01:47 PM
Here's what I would do:

Boot to the Win95 floppy if you are going to install Win95 on your hard drive.

At the A:\> prompt, go back to fdisk.
Delete all primary/extended DOS partitions completely.
Now create a new primary DOS partition. If you are asked if you want to use all available space for the partition, choose "Yes".
(After the partition is created, you might be asked to reboot. Do that, but then boot right back to the floppy and go to fdisk again.)
Now set the new partition active.
ESC out of fdisk and reboot to the floppy again.
At the A:\prompt, type format_c:_/s[Enter] The underscore ( _ )between the words means to leave 1 space. Don't type the underscore.

When the format is done, try booting to the C: drive without the floppy.

If you still can't boot to C:, boot to the Win95 floppy again.
At the A:\> prompt, type fdisk_/mbr[Enter] When the A:\> prompt comes back, type sys_c:[Enter]. You should see the words "System Transferred" when it's done.
Remove the floppy disk and reboot.

Let us know what happens after doing this, please.
We'll deal with the size issue after we get the drive to boot... http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif

Kim




[This message has been edited by Jerkymom (edited 10-27-2000).]

gidyeo
10-27-2000, 02:14 PM
I was able to delete all partitions and use all available disk space for the partition. After i reboot and run Fdisk, i've found that my disk usage is still 29% at 2047MB (why?).

I try fdisk /mbr after activating the new partition (it says that it is already active), and the i type sys c: and i get the following (again):

Invalid media type reading drive C
Abort, Retry, Fail?


Pls advice and thanx http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Jerkymom
10-27-2000, 02:39 PM
OK, in the CMOS setup under Primary Master Disk (where you are seeing CHS Mode 4), is it set to something like "Drive Type 47" with numbers for heads, cylinders, etc., or is it set to "Auto"? Some BIOS setups have the "Auto" option. If yours does, and it isn't already on "Auto", change it. If you don't have the "Auto" option, do you have "LARGE, LBA, or NORMAL" options. "LBA" is probably what you'll need to select in that case, but you might have to try "LARGE" and "NORMAL" too.

Also in CMOS, is there an option to "Autodetect Hard Drive". If there is, what does it say the drive is (should be the one with a (Y) next to it)?

It seems the hard drive isn't being recognized correctly by the BIOS, which is probably why you can't access it. Are you absolutely sure the cable is hooked up correctly to the motherboard and the back of hard drive (stripe on cable matched to pin 1 on both), and is the jumper set to Master? Check for bent pins and be sure you're not missing any when you plug the cable in.

Is this an older computer? That might be why the drive is only showing as 2047 MB, because older motherboards have a BIOS limitation that limits the drive size. If that's the case, you can download Quantum's Disk Manager to get past that limitation and use the whole 7.5 GB. http://www.quantum.com/support/hdd/fireball_lct15_ata_support.htm

I don't know why the Usage is 29%. Mine usually says 100%. Anyone else have any thoughts on that?

Kim



[This message has been edited by Jerkymom (edited 10-27-2000).]

gidyeo
10-27-2000, 03:21 PM
thanx again for the trouble to locate the website for me. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Now the BIOS is able to detect the HD (during startup after the memory test it says something like "detecting harddrive - QuantumFireballLct15 07"), after i change the CMOS thing to Auto for HD. (anyone knows what is the 07 after the QuantumFireballLct15?)

After i did all these i use the startup disk to format my C by:
format c:/s
And upon the completion of the format, i'm able to DIR my C drive. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif
After all these i continue with the Fdisk /mbr and sys c: , and it is successfull this time. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

But it seems that i still is unable to fully utilise my HD. The System Configuration shows my HD is 7510Mbytes but when i DIR C drive it shows me only around 2Gbytes of space available, why? http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif Can somemone help me to fully utilise my HD?

Anyway i'm very grateful for ur help Jerkymom (btw what does ur name means or what does it stands for?). FYI when i choose AutoDetect HD under the BIOS thing, the one with a (Y) next to it is LBA.

FMI (for my information) what does the /mbr after the fdisk means, and what is all these LBA, CMOS, BIOS thing stands for?

[This message has been edited by gidyeo (edited 10-27-2000).]

Jerkymom
10-27-2000, 05:22 PM
I'm very happy you can access your hard drive now!

To answer your questions:

CMOS = Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor. Computers use battery powered CMOS memory to hold the date, time, and system setup parameters.

BIOS = Basic Input/Output System. The BIOS is built-in software that determines what a computer can do without accessing programs from a disk. On PCs, the BIOS contains all the code required to control the keyboard, display screen, disk drives, serial communications, and a number of miscellaneous functions. The BIOS is typically placed in a ROM chip that comes with the computer (it is often called a ROM BIOS). This ensures that the BIOS will always be available and will not be damaged by disk failures. It also makes it possible for a computer to boot itself.

Most people mean the same thing when they say CMOS or BIOS, usually meaning the setup utility you accessed to get your computer to recognize your hard drive... http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

mbr = Master Boot Record. Fdisk /mbr basically copies the master boot record from the Win95 floppy to the C: drive. It's used when the hard drive mbr might be corrupted and needs to be replaced.

LBA = Logical Block Addressing. The method used with SCSI and IDE disk drives to translate the cylinder, head, and sector specifications of the drive into addresses that can be used by an enhanced BIOS. LBA is used with drive's that are larger than 528 MB. It's best to leave your BIOS setup at "AUTO" if it's available and the drive is being recognized like yours is now.

If you'd like to find out what other computer terms mean, try this online encyclopedia: http://aol.pcwebopedia.com/

Now, for your problem with the only 2 GB of your hard drive being recognized, the only answer I can give is for you to download Quantum's Disk Manager from the link I gave you earlier. There should be instructions for using it to get your computer to see all 7.5 GB of your drive. As I told you earlier, this is a BIOS limitation of older motherboards and can only be fixed with a program from the hard drive manufacturer (like Disk Manager) or sometimes by flashing the BIOS chip with newer information. Flashing the BIOS can be very risky, because if you do it wrong it can ruin your motherboard. I don't recommend doing it when Disk Manager can probably solve the problem safely.

FYI, when I got my first computer a few years ago, I had to think of a username for email. My son was already Jerkyboy and my daughter was Jerkysis, so I just became Jerkymom... http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Keep us posted on how you make out with Disk Manager and how your Win95 install goes. We're glad to help in any way we can!

Kim

gidyeo
10-28-2000, 12:53 AM
I've downloaded the Disk Manager for DOS at http://www.quantum.com/support/csr/software/csr_software.htm
and had it run on the PC.

What the DM does was partition my HD into 4 partitions of 1,875,083,264bytes each (Drives C:, D:, E:, F http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif. Thus optimizing the usage for my HD http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Problem came when i try to install Win95 into the HD using a CD installer. The computer seems that can't read from the CD-ROM drive. i have a MSCDEX.EXE file but donno how to use it http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/frown.gif

Pls advice and thanx http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

(btw what does a MSCDEX file do? Why cant the PC detect the CD-ROM?)

Jerkymom
10-28-2000, 01:11 AM
Been thinking about this and another idea popped into my head. http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif



Partition - C:1
Status - A
Type - PRI DOS
Volume Label - (empty)
Mbytes - 2047 (i thought i have 7.5GB, where r the rest?)
System - Unknown
Usage - 29%
Total disk space is 7154 Mbytes (1 Mbyte = 1048576 bytes)


Maybe the reason the usage is 29% is because the BIOS knows the total disk space is 7154 MB, but because of its limitation it doesn't know how to use it all. You could try going back into fdisk and creating some
extended DOS partitions to use the rest of your hard drive space.

I think it would look something like this:
Primary DOS Partition = Drive C: 2047 MB (what you already have)
Extended DOS Partition = Drive D: 2047 MB
Extended DOS Partition = Drive E: 2047 MB
Extended DOS Partition = Drive F: 1013 MB
Total = 7154 MB

This is just a guess on my part, as I don't have any first-hand experience with multiple partitions on a single hard drive. I'm lazy, so I just keep everything on one big partition, even though I know many experienced users feel there are benefits to smaller partitions. Hopefully someone else here on the forums can give us both a better idea of how that works... http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Of course, if you get Disk Manager downloaded and let it set up your Quantum drive, this would not be necessary.

Kim

Jerkymom
10-28-2000, 01:28 AM
Seems like our posts crossed each other online... http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif Just ignore my last one, since Disk Manager solved the problem.

As to the CDROM not working, didn't you say you had a Win98 boot disk? If you boot to it and select "Start Computer With CDROM Support", it should load your CDROM (maybe as Drive H). Make sure you have the Win95 CD in the drive, and at the A:\> prompt, try each of the drive letters after C: to see if you can find the one with the Win95 files on it. With multiple partitions on the drive, I don't know how the Win98 boot disk will assign a letter to the CDROM. Usually, it's C for the hard drive, D for the virtual Ramdrive (with the diagnostic tools on it) and then E for a CDROM. Since you already have C,D,E,F partitions, maybe the Ramdrive will be G and the CDROM H. If the CDROM drive is recognized and you can find the files on the CD, run setup.exe to install Win95.

Hope this helps.
Kim

Paleo Pete
10-28-2000, 10:13 AM
You guessed it right mom, ramdrive will be G and CD ROM will be H. The start up disk always makes them the last two drives, the ramdrive the lower letter, CD ROM last.

------------------
If you had everything...Where would you put it?

Computer Information Links (http://www.geocities.com/paleopete/)

gidyeo
10-29-2000, 03:31 AM
i've reboot the PC with Win98 startup disk, and it works fine and i'm able to access to my CD-ROM, but this is again where the problem start...

When i run SETUP.EXE from my Win95 CD it shows the following msgs:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
H:\>setup
Please wait while Setup initializes.

Setup is now going to perform a routine check on your system.

To continue, press ENTER. To quit Setup, press ESC.

This version of Microsoft ScanDisk will work only with MS-DOS versions 5.0 and later.
Setup found a compressed volume or a disk-cache utility on your computer. Quit Setup and check your compressed volume with your disk compression software or remove the disk-cache utility.
Then run Setup again.

If you have done so press ESC.

For more information, see SETUP.TXT on Setup Disk 1 or the Windows CD.

To quit Setup, press ENTER. To continue with Setup, press ESC.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anyway, i press ESC to continue with the Setup, and it proceed and then successfull install the Win95 into the PC http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

i guess it is case close now, thank God for u all http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/wink.gif, especially Jerkymom, i've been bless by this website http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif (by saving me $$ as i need not to get a technician to repair the PC http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/tongue.gif )

Jerkymom
10-29-2000, 01:43 PM
Sounds like everything is fine now. Glad we could help!