PDA

View Full Version : Trying to restore to original configuration



Fran
10-28-2000, 08:49 PM
Since I bought my computer three years ago, I restored it to its original configuration 2 or 3 times.
I have a Packard Bell 1820 and Windows 95.
Since there is a lot of junck on my hard drive and some files have become corrupted, I wanted to do it once again.
I have a Master Restore Diskette and a Master CD.
This time it didn't work, so I thought the floppy disk was corrupt since it showed some errors when running ScanDisk on it.

I got a new diskette and a new Master CD from the manufacturer, but it still doesn't work.
This is what happens:
I start the computer with the floppy and the Master CD in.
It reads the floppy, then searches for the Master CD.
Says it found it, then there is a short beep coming from the computer and everyting stands still.
If I press any key on the keyboard there is a message that appears on the screen for a second. It says "Unable to create ERROR.LOG".

Why is it unable to create an error.log? Not enough memory space?
Why does it beep? Hardware problem?

Could anyone help? I'd greatly appreciate.

P.S. As I am writing this, I very vaguely remember encountering the same problem before. The solution had something to do with partition? Deleting all and re-creating a partition? Rings any bell? Could anyone walk me through this? Thanks.
Thanks.

Jerkymom
10-29-2000, 01:41 AM
Welcome! http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif

Afraid I don't know much about Packard Bells, but I checked out some info on their Tech Support site at http://pbsupport.alorica.com/ and found the user forum. Apparently there is more to formatting and partitioning Packard Bell hard drives than just doing it the "regular" way. There are format numbers and other info that will be needed during the process. Maybe you should check out the support site and see if you can get some email help from them before you go any further. They should be able to tell you why you're getting the "Unable to create ERROR.LOG" message.

If you want to read some good information on formatting and partitioning a hard drive, go here: http://www.pcguide.com/proc/setup/hdd-c.html

Hope this helps, at least a little...
Kim

Fran
10-29-2000, 02:07 PM
Thanks, Jerkymom, for the reply. I went to the support service you mentioned (funny, I had looked for it a few times, but never hit the spot)
and I got an immediate answer. I post it here in case someone else encounters the same problem.
I quote:

"Deleting and re-creating the partition should resolve the problem.
Boot with the restore disk and press F8 at starting windows to get the windows startup menu.
Choose safe mode command prompt only from the menu.
At the dos prompt, type fdisk and press enter.
In the fdisk options choose to delete a partition and then choose to delete the primary dos partition. Follow the prompts to complete deleting the partition.
Press ESC to return to the Fdisk options and choose to create a dos partition and then create a primary dos partition. Say yes to use the maximum size and make the partition active. The press ESC to exit fdisk to the dos prompt. Type Fdisk /mbr and press enter. It will return to the prompt. Type fdisk /mbr and press enter again.
Restart the computer with the restore disk and press F8 to get the startup menu and choose safe mode command prompt only again.
At the dos prompt, type format c: and press enter. Say yes when prompted to continue.
After the format is complete, reboot with the restore disk and master cd and restore as usual."

Jerkymom
10-29-2000, 03:17 PM
Thanks for letting us know the outcome and for posting the fix.

Glad we could help! http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/smile.gif