PDA

View Full Version : New "Supercomputer"...superproblems

Chicken
10-22-2000, 11:04 AM
Greetings!

I am new to this forum. I stumbled onto this link in my search for the solution to problems relating to building my new computer that has plagued me for weeks now. This seems to be a great source for technical info, so I registerred.

First, I am not a newbie computer builder. I have assembled my own computers in the past. I am a computer tweak, not a "geek". I have researched the topic to the end of the planet and back but do not have a lot of time to devote to this project...boy am I fed up!

Here are my problems, as best as I can describe them. I will try to include as much relevant info as possible, nothing worse than having to play "20 questions" before you guys can even fathom a guess at my predicament.

I am building a computer based on the following components.

[list=1]
Abit KT7 Raid mobo, VIA Apollo KT133 chipset, HPT 370 chipset (RAID)
AMD Athlon 1Ghz Thunderbird
Micron CT16M64S4D7E PC133 128meg memory, cas 2, 7.5ns, non parity, unbuffered (more RAM will be added as funds become available)
2x IBM DTLA-307030 30 gig ATA-100, 7500rpm, 2mb buffer hard drives in a RAID 0 array (striping mode)as the primary C drive
1x Quantum QU320500LM 20 gig ATA-66, 7500rpm, (I don't recall the buffer size, probably 2mb as well) as the D drive
1x Toshiba XM6702B-s 48x CD-Rom, Master unit, primary IDE channel
1x HP 9500i CD-R 12x8x32, Slave unit, Secondary IDE channel
1x LS120 IDE drive, Master unit, Secondary IDE channel
Creative Labs CT4760-3 Live Platinum Sound card, w/front mounted I/O panel
STB Velocity 4400 2D/3D board 128 bit nVidia Riva TNT, 16mb SDRAM, 250mhx RAMDAC, PCI (this was just layin around, it is temporary till my CardExpert GeForce 2GTS/400 64mb ddr board is released and delivered
Linksys LNE100TX 10/100 fast Ethernet adapter
Windows 98se ver 4.10.2222 A
[/list=a]

The Raid is setup as follows: