PDA

View Full Version : Win 7 "Do you want to allow this program to make changes to the computer?" PITA

Fred Forsythe
03-28-2011, 01:17 AM
I'm new to Win 7 & UAC. My current setting is "Default". I understand the idea behind not allowing programs to make changes which should require admin privileges, but there should be a way to TELL the bloody thing "this program is OK", as you can with firewalls. etc. For example, I have a free utility called "Everything search", which I like because it will search all my 6 hdd's at once in real time, as I type. It runs on startup, so it can index the files & be ready when needed. EVERY time I start my PC, UAC asks "Do you want to allow the following program to make changes to this computer?" There should be a way of telling it "Once and for all, YES!!!". In fact, there should be a button RIGHT THERE on the popup that says "remember my reply FOREVER!", or words to that effect. Is there a way to get UAC to NOT hit on any given program? The only other option I see is turning UAC off entirely.

It really boggles the mind how, with all the time they put into software, such a glaringly obvious oversight can occur.

TIA

Fred

PrntRhd
03-28-2011, 02:13 AM
UAC is somewhat annoying in Win7 but is improved over Windows Vista's implementation.

Fred Forsythe
03-28-2011, 02:47 AM
UAC is somewhat annoying in Win7 but is improved over Windows Vista's implementation.

I ran the BETA of Vista right after it came out, I do recall its UAC being worse & shutting it off. If there's no way around this boot thing, I'll have to kill it on Win7, too.

CraigEvander
04-01-2011, 09:00 AM
Well at list now there is the option to turn this off. Remember that on a beta version of vista there was no way to do this.!!!

jlreich
04-01-2011, 05:10 PM
First thing I do is shut it off. You know Linux has done a similar thing for a long time and it doesn't really bother me, but for some reason when windows does it it just annoys the crap out of me. :rolleyes: