PDA

View Full Version : Win XP: Chkdsk wont clear 'Dirty disk C: after 4 checks

robinp
04-23-2011, 09:01 AM
I have run chkdsk 4 different times to no avail. I still have a <Volume-C: is Dirty> message when inputting <fsutil dirty query C:> So I decided to tell Windows not to check that drive by inputting <CHKNTFS /X C:> However, Windows now wont allow me to defrag. How can I solve this problem once & for all? Please keep suggestions simple, as I am still a beginner. Thankyou for whatever help you can offer.
robinp

YODA74
04-23-2011, 11:20 AM
http://www.infocellar.com/winxp/chkdsk-and-autochk.htm

fsutil will NOT reset the dirty bit

if your running xp go to above site for the solution scroll down to
The mysterious "Dirty Bit"

See if it helps if not post back

robinp
04-27-2011, 06:20 AM
Thanks for replying Yoda74.
I attempted to read the 'infocellar' site, but I must admit after re-reading it at least 4 times I'm still completely confused. It seems to be talking mainly about 'partitioned disks' which I don't have. In the: The mysterious "Dirty Bit"
section it seems to be contradictory: fsutil dirty query c: )
set the dirty bit - Example: Start/Run . . . cmd
fsutil dirty set c:
NOTE: fsutil will NOT reset the dirty bit - the only one way to do this is to either run chkdsk within Windows, or let Autochk run upon reboot

The next section: What if the Dirty Bit won't go away ??
This section seems to be only talking about partitioned disks:

More than a few people have encountered this:

a drive partition has the dirty bit set
so when they reboot, Windows insists on running Autochk to check a drive - it checks the drive and all is well. Just running that check is supposed to clear the dirty bit, etc. etc.