PDA

View Full Version : Personalizing windows 7

DLeonR
05-17-2011, 02:06 PM
Hi guys, I am very new to windows 7 and I am working on my grandson's laptop. It's and Acer running windows 7 Home Premium. At the moment I have it running, on the desktop the background is black solid with the icons and taskbar at the bottom. However I am trying to put one of the themes (landscape, nature, architecture or other. But each time I select one of them I get the black background, even if I change the solid black to a nother pastel color, when I go back to the themes and try to select, it turns black again. Now I did not have that problem with my windows ultimate when I set it up last week. Can someone help me here?

Thanks in advance

LochLomonder
05-17-2011, 03:45 PM
It could be a few different things, but here's what I suggest you look at first of all...

1. Check to see Windows has been activated. If not, do that. The black background can be part of Microsoft's nagging if the Windows copy hasn't been activated. If it's activated, try this next...

2. Go to Control Panel and open the Ease of Access Center.

2. Click on Optimize visual display and then scroll down to the bottom where it says Remove background images (where available). If this is ticked, click on it once to uncheck it, click OK and then close the window. Try changing the background now.

3. If this doesn't work, try updating the video drivers for the laptop from the manufacturer's website.

There may be more options, but we can try these out for the time being.

DLeonR
05-17-2011, 07:44 PM
It could be a few different things, but here's what I suggest you look at first of all...

1. Check to see Windows has been activated. If not, do that. The black background can be part of Microsoft's nagging if the Windows copy hasn't been activated. If it's activated, try this next...

2. Go to Control Panel and open the Ease of Access Center.