PDA

View Full Version : First time building PC need advice



berticus129
03-26-2012, 07:54 PM
Just wondering if these parts will work together well. My first time building a gaming pc so any advice will be great thanks

Processor (CPU)

Intel Core i7 3820 Quad Core 10mb 3.6ghz Hyperthreading LGA2011 Processor

CPU Cooling

Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100 Extreme Performance CPU Cooler System LGA1366 2011

Motherboard

Gigabyte X79-UD3 Atx LGA2011 X79 DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 PCI SLI SATA3 USB3.0 MOTHERBOARD

DDR3 Desktop Memory

Corsair CML16GX3M4A1600C9B Vengeance Low Profile Blue 16GB 4X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24

Video Cards - Advanced Options

Galaxy GeForce GTX 680 1006MHZ 2GB 6GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI DisplayPort HDMI PCI-E 3.0 Video

Computer Case + Advanced Options

Thermaltake Level 10 GT Black E-ATX Modular Tower Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 5X3.5INT No PS Fr

Power Supply (PSU) + Advanced Options

Corsair Professional Series HX1050 1050W ATX 12V 87A 24PIN ATX 80PLUS Silver Modular

Hard Drives + Advanced Options

Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6Gbps 3.5IN Internal Hard Drive - OEM

Solid State Drives - SSD + Advanced Options

OCZ Vertex 2 Extended SandForce 120gb 2.5IN SATA2 Solid State Disk Flash Drive SSD

saphalline
03-26-2012, 09:05 PM
Looks like you have some money to burn! :cool:

The only part that jumps out at me is the storage subsystem. Definitely a good idea to go the SSD+HDD route. However, the Vertex 2 is a very old SSD and is handily outclassed by the latest Marvel controller-based SSDs and Sandforce SSDs with toggle NAND, and the mere 1TB HDD is "meh" compared to the rest of your specs. I would suggest taking a look at the Samsung 830 256GB and the Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 120GB/240GB. For the HDD, if you do not anticipate needing more than 1TB, leave it as-is because that is a good HDD. Otherwise, consider a 2TB or 3TB HDD.

Oh, and you are planning to use a good UPS w/AVR, right?

berticus129
03-26-2012, 10:31 PM
Thnx for the response yea working really hard right now so i can afford this before diablo 3. If i dont upgrade to that vertex 3 and stick with the 2 will that affect my gameplay in anyway? And yup ups all the way don't want any of this stuff damaged =]

Edit: forgot to add i'm planning to add a
second gtx 680 in the future when i've saved up some more. Will this cpu be able to handle it or will it bottleneck

saphalline
03-26-2012, 11:42 PM
If i dont upgrade to that vertex 3 and stick with the 2 will that affect my gameplay in anyway?No, any modern performance SSD will remove the storage subsystem as a bottleneck for gaming. But with the prices being so close, and with your level of budget, why put up with an old SSD? Toggle NAND is king.


Edit: forgot to add i'm planning to add a
second gtx 680 in the future when i've saved up some more. Will this cpu be able to handle it or will it bottleneckNo, that CPU will not be a bottleneck, despite the sheer power of the GTX 680. The only question that arises at that point is: Would you be better served by waiting for Ivy Bridge?

berticus129
03-27-2012, 02:30 AM
Ivybridge?

hackerballs
03-27-2012, 12:24 PM
the same as Sandy Bridge but with the die shrunk down to 22 nm. Probally a 5 to 15% boost.................coming out next month, possibly in stores before June............about the same price as a current Sandy Bridge.

Cheaper than the 3820 ...........yours @ 3.6ghz and ivy i7 3770k @ 3.5ghz

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/news/intel_confirms_ivy_bridge_specs_online_document

berticus129
03-27-2012, 12:39 PM
I think ill just get the 3820 for now and upgrade to that when it comes out if i feel i need to

hackerballs
03-27-2012, 01:35 PM
no......cannot upgrade to that when it comes out.....different sockets.....2011 vs 1155 ..................the 3820 is a 32 nm die and the ivy is 22 nm...........the 3850 uses dual transistors vs ivy tri-transistor

bottom line is there is not a whole lot of performance differences at all....buy what you like now or you would have to wait 2/3 months and change your MB and cpu for ivy bridge

either or..............not a bottleneck...........very nice to get 2 x gtx 680's

berticus129
03-27-2012, 04:22 PM
Is this motherboard compatible with the ivybridge? Thinkin about grabbing this one instead of the gigabyte if it is.

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=65562&vpn=Rampage%20IV%20Extreme%2FBF3&manufacture=ASUS&promoid=1205

hackerballs
03-27-2012, 08:00 PM
no, they are not compatable as they use different sockets

berticus129
03-27-2012, 08:41 PM
Hmm any suggestion what motherboard i can use thats pci 3.0 has enough space for 16gb ram supports ivybridge and lga2011 compatible?

saphalline
03-27-2012, 10:30 PM
Ivy Bridge is LGA 1155, not LGA 2011. The LGA 2011 version will be called Ivy Bridge-E, just like Sandy Bridge on LGA 1155 vs Sandy Bridge-E on LGA 2011.

Ivy Bridge will provide a nice performance boost on LGA 1155 that will probably put it within striking distance of Sandy Bridge-E on LGA 2011. Ivy Bridge-E for LGA 2011 is currently scheduled for a 4Q12 release.

So if you wait for Ivy Bridge, that means going with an LGA 1155 system. If you pull the trigger now on Sandy Bridge-E, that means your upgrade path will be Ivy Bridge-E towards the end of the year.

hackerballs
03-28-2012, 10:55 AM
I think every MB that has PCI-e 3.0 has enough room for 16g RAM. Don't get all excited about that as PCI-e 2.0 has not even been utilized yet. More about marketing right now, as it will come into play in a few years when it is needed for the graphics.

Your choice is that you have to decide on which " bridge" you want

Both will do as they are both more than powerful enough for todays demands

If you go "ivy bridge" 1155, then this will probally be the last upgrade with that socket 1155 as "Haswell" will be next with a different socket.

Might have more upgrade paths with Ivy Bridge-E 2011......as it will come later in the year......(read newer)

berticus129
03-30-2012, 05:21 PM
Alrite i guess i'll wait for 2011 ivybridge until then gonna go with the 3820 for now. Thanks for the advice guys. I'll post some pics when i buy this later in april.

Oh yeah last question lol what components do I need to play games in 3d in highest resolution 1080p n maxed out on one monitor?

saphalline
03-30-2012, 08:49 PM
What components? Like, compared to what you have listed or just the bare minimum needed today?

The setup that you listed will do this without breaking a sweat. You could probably even do Eyefinity @ 5760 x 1200 across three monitors for many games.

Minimum for 1080p gaming would probably be a Core i3 or FX-4100 with a Radeon HD 6850 or GeForce GTX 560 Ti.

berticus129
03-30-2012, 10:25 PM
Ive read that you need specific monitors to run 3d or can every lcd/led monitor do that? Also maybe a dumb question but is it possible to use the 3d glasses they give you at movie theatres? Cuz really don't feel like paying 100+$ for those 3d glasses they sell on pc sites

hackerballs
04-01-2012, 01:32 PM
different monitors as 3d monitors are more expensive...............they are not the same as a regular LCD.................Better glasses come with the 3d monitors (usually comes with 1 or 2 pairs of glasses when you buy the 3d monitor) than the theatres..........the more you spend on glasses the more you will thank yourself in da morning

berticus129
04-01-2012, 08:10 PM
Alrite then