PDA

View Full Version : Help wanted: Building a pc for 2012!

Young Grass-hop
04-20-2012, 10:58 AM
Hello all enthusiasts! :)

I have finally gathered the funds for a new pc build. I am not an expert on the matter, in fact, this will be my first time assembling a pc. I have a basic build in mind, and I was hoping that people could give me some feedback on my choices, and if other choices could be better.

The build:

Case: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower.

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular High Performance Power Supply.

MOBO: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68

CPU: Intel i5 2500k 3.3ghz

GPU: Radeon hd 7870 2gb

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3

I want to run BF3 (and other graphic intense games) on decent settings (high-ultra) and want something "future proof". My main questions are:

1. Should I go for an i7 cpu instead? is it worth the extra money? Maybe suggestion on why I should go with AMD instead? Any suggestions on the cpu would be greatly appreciated. (If AMD suggestions, please suggest a MOBO as well.)

2: Is radeon a better choice than Nvidia? Should I consider getting the 7970? or would buying another 7870 and crossfiring be better? Ex: buying the one 7870, and then when games start demanding more power, just buying an other one?

3. Is my power supply the good one? I checked it out, and I'm pretty sure that's what I need if the need to crossfire or SLI becomes necessary. Input on other PSU's could be interesting as well.

4. SSD or no? Will it really improve the performance of my games? or just load times?

Feel free to suggest anything really, I just want to make sure that I put my money into something that will last a few years. Thanks in advance to anyone helping! :D

hackerballs
04-20-2012, 06:31 PM
1: yes, if you can wait for a few weeks the "ivy bridge" is out then .....i7 3770k..........you decide if you like Intel or AMD best.........your choice, let us know