PDA

View Full Version : applying for job and blurb on Nafta

steveo
11-05-2001, 09:45 PM
Well today I applied for another PC job. That's make four this year while having three other PC jobs that I no longer have bringing the grand total to seven attempts. It's been a weird year that way.

Nafta...Soft wood industry in BC. First they had to deal with the 19% tax and today I heard something on the news about another 10% added to it. So in order to do business with the US in this area it cost Canadian soft wood companies 29% over and above costs. I'm no expert in Nafta but it sounds like a bum deal. The then Conservative government thought Nafta was a good deal for us Canucks. Guess we should've been paying attention instead of drinking beer and watching hockey. Oh well, we still have oil, fresh water and Bryan Adams. You can have Mr.Adams...please!

Lucias_Clay
11-05-2001, 10:08 PM
Well the problem as I see it is you are on the wrong side of the u.s.. Now if you were on the south side you might be o.k. Or if you owned a multi-million dollar business (like the one that I worked for) than you could just ship it down south and save millions in labor,taxes,ins.,and the like. Do I sound like a digruntled ex-employee yet? Now what you do get all your friends to contact their reprsentatives and have them do away with all the wage laws,safety laws, and any other law that keeps the employers from taking advantage of the employees and maybe yall can get an american company to move its factories up there. As far as Bryan Adams is concerened we have enough un-employeed http://www.PCGuide.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
"It's not my fault!"

Donna
11-06-2001, 12:51 PM
Steve,
That other 10% is just for some company's.The Company(slocan) that is in the town I am in is being charged another 19%. Some are as low as 6%.It is an antidumping tax. The states is saying that we are selling our wood to them at less than what it costs us to produce it. What a crock of bull.

steveo