Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: Newbie Web Page Designer - Uploading Problem

Unhappy Newbie Web Page Designer - Uploading Problem

I recently decided to take advantage of the free webspace that my ISP (AT&T Broadband) provides. I quickly put together a page using CoffeeCup HTLM editor (the free version) and uploaded it perfectly. My page was exactly as I wanted it.

But when I added more to it I had a problem. The new text showed fine but the photos I had added (using the same methods I had used on the previous photos) didn't show. I just get the empty box with the red X in the upper left corner.

I switched over to Dreamweaver (which I'm still learning) and my first attempt at uploading a new addition to the page via CuteFTP didn't take care of the problem.

Questions:

What could cause the photos NOT to show now when I update my page?

(When I preview the page in the HTLM editor(s) preview browser, they show perfectly).

And what's an especially good FTP program for beginners like me that will upload my webpage to my web address?

Thanks in advance,
    Jericho

Jericho. I use and like WS-FTP. You can download it from HERE.

You did not give the URL of the page you uploaded so I can't be certain what your problem is. The usual thing that goes wrong is confusion between absolute and relative links to images etc. I have lost count of the number of times it has happened to me!
    It works in the preview window, but does it work if you point your usual browser to the page on your hard drive? Sometimes the preview is not what a normal browser sees.

Another possibility is the image format, but if it works on your machine that is less likely.