Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: old laptops

old laptops

Guss what I did two weeks ago. I been wondering how to get a old laptop so that I can rip apart and see inside. I never had one nor used. I learned hardway (I lied!! I am still learning) how to take care of desktop, managed to assemble four so far. To cut story short, recently there was a computer show (looks like junk yard sale)at Rosement Convention center in Chicago,for three days, $9 for admission fee, parking costing $11. I end up buying (don't laugh!!): (1)Toshiba Satellete 110CS-1.2GB HD,16RAM,WIN 98 with internal floppy drive and no cd-rom for $100.00. (2) Toshiba Sat 115CD -2 GB HD,16RAM,WIN 98 with floppy and no cd.for $100 (3)Toshiba Sat Pro 410 CDT-WIN 95,24 RAM,1GB HD, inter-changable floppy and cd-rom (got both) for $200.00 and finally (4)Panasonic CD-41 WIN 95, 8RAM, 2 GB HD,floppy drive and cd-rom under the keyboard for $150. Bought 1.2 GB HD spare one for $20. Mind you I am not going to touch/open 3 and 4 (for now) but I want to experiment with 1 & 2. All of them are working so far.

Now my question is: what are "dos and don't" I should follow before I mess them up. (well that is how we learn ) This how I keep my self busy.

If you are just going to play and experiment and learn, the only don't I can think of is.... don't put any vital files on the hard drive.

The only do.... do have fun.

Budfred

Heh heh, another good man going down the road to geekdom.

Cool