Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Two questions.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818

    Two questions.

    Okay guys, I have two questions for you. First the easy one .

    1) Is it possible to run a pc with only freeware security/antivirus/firewall/etc? How safe would that pc be.

    2) I'm looking for ways to speed up my pc's boot time. Here is my HJT log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 12:47:32 PM, on 9/7/2005
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\Agent\mcupdmgr.exe
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsrte.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MPFSERVICE.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcshield.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
    C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S4I2C 1.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\Agent\mcupdui.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S4I2C 1.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswctrl.exe
    c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsescn.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MpfTray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\Program Files\GigaByte\VGA Utility Manager\G-VGA.exe
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\D-Tools\daemon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MpfAgent.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe
    C:\Program Files\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dell4me.com/myway
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir...ie&ar=iesearch
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://heritagepa.org/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dell4me.com/myway
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir...ie&ar=iesearch
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir...ie&ar=iesearch
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.dell4me.com/myway
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings,ProxyServer = ccc.hedge.org:8080
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: DriveLetterAccess - {5CA3D70E-1895-11CF-8E15-001234567890} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswshx.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshl.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IntelMeM] C:\Program Files\Intel\Modem Event Monitor\IntelMEM.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdateManager] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VSOCheckTask] "c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcmnhdlr.exe" /checktask
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\McUpdate.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VirusScan Online] "c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [\\Brian-hedg5k36i\EPSON Stylus C64 Series] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S4I2C 1.EXE /P41 "\\Brian-hedg5k36i\EPSON Stylus C64 Series" /O6 "USB001" /M "Stylus C64"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Auto EPSON Stylus C64 Series on Brian-hedg5k36i] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S4I2C 1.EXE /P47 "Auto EPSON Stylus C64 Series on Brian-hedg5k36i" /O27 "\\BRIAN-HEDG5K36I\EPSON C64" /M "Stylus C64"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dla] C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswctrl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MPFExe] C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MpfTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NVRTCLK] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NVRTCLK\NVRTClk.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PathNvidiaTV] C:\Program Files\Gigabyte\Nvidia\patchnvidiaTVout.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VGAUtil] C:\Program Files\GigaByte\VGA Utility Manager\G-VGA.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools-1033] "C:\Program Files\D-Tools\daemon.exe" -lang 1033
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - Startup: Joint Operations Typhoon Rising Registration.lnk = C:\Documents and Settings\sdewalt\Local Settings\Temp\{55D3EEBD-C6FC-4ED7-BD0B-D848DF9FF4B6}\{0325F1C1-883A-41AB-8981-B27359ABDFAF}\NOVG.EXE
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Shdocvw.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O15 - Trusted Zone: *.simnetenterprise.com (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
    O23 - Service: iPod Service (iPodService) - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: McAfee.com McShield (McShield) - Unknown owner - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcshield.exe
    O23 - Service: McAfee SecurityCenter Update Manager (mcupdmgr.exe) - McAfee, Inc - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\Agent\mcupdmgr.exe
    O23 - Service: McAfee.com VirusScan Online Realtime Engine (MCVSRte) - McAfee, Inc - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsrte.exe
    O23 - Service: McAfee Personal Firewall Service (MpfService) - McAfee Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MPFSERVICE.exe
    O23 - Service: Intel NCS NetService (NetSvc) - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\PROSetWired\NCS\Sync\NetSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe


    I was thinking that removing the following lines would increase performance.

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdateManager] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Auto EPSON Stylus C64 Series on Brian-hedg5k36i] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S4I2C 1.EXE /P47 "Auto EPSON Stylus C64 Series on Brian-hedg5k36i" /O27 "\\BRIAN-HEDG5K36I\EPSON C64" /M "Stylus C64"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools-1033] "C:\Program Files\D-Tools\daemon.exe" -lang 1033
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background

    (I'm no longer conected to the family printer.)

    What do you think?
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    To The Right Of The Left Coast
    Posts
    2,491
    1) Yes

    2) One of the HJT guys will weigh in on the log but...McCafee--from what I have seen on other people's systems--is a resource hog much like Norton.
    Pop Pop
    ===========
    "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."
    Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Nor'East USA
    Posts
    5,505
    You snuck in a third question subliminally... In the latter part of question one, you ask if a free program only pc is safe? One word: Linux. Other than that, all other browsers use MS'es shell and with a weak foundation,,, well you know where I'm going with that.

    Free security suites or separate programs are a blessing for now. Who knows if they'll still be here years, months or even weeks from now. Look what happened to Sygate firewall as of late. Now you'll have to pay for a what will most likely become a bloated firewall now that 'Snortin's' took it over...
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    Quote Originally Posted by Fruss Tray Ted
    Now you'll have to pay for a what will most likely become a bloated firewall now that 'Snortin's' took it over...
    I like that . I'll wait for some advice on my HJT log.

    And by the way, the reason I asking is because my free MaCafee trial will end at the end of this school year.
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,509
    I am not an expert in HiJack This! logs but I don't see anything that screams out as being malicious. I did notice a few things that are autostarting that you could stop if you want.

    QuickTime
    Real Player
    Java Updater

    I am currently using AVG and Sygate free on all of my Windows computers. I haven't ever had any problems with viri or other such problems. I think that they work just fine, when combined with safe surfing habits anyway. Also as mentioned for the ultimate in security and truly being a totally free PC, software wise anyway, you need to migrate to Linux.
    Erik

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    I'm not looking for malicous stuff, I'm just looking to speed up my pc. Someday I'll do a dual boot with Linux.
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,509
    If you just want to try Linux without the hstle of formatting, partitioning on a HD that has important data you still have some options. The first would be a Live CD version, which runs totally from CD and gives you a feel for Linux. There is no danger of harming any existing installed programs as they won't write to your HD by default.

    Linux is alo perfectly happy to run on an older PC that Windows would be sluggish and barely workable on. I am currently working from an older laptop that is running a lighter version of Linux called Slackware. The laptop is an old PIII 700Mhz with a 30GB HD and 256MB of RAM. I installed a wireless card, and am typing from my bed as I watch TV. It works great and gives no problems. I have even run Linux on older PCs without problems.
    Erik

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    Were can I get me one of those CDs? I would be interested in trying that.
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    2,762
    Download slackware as an ISO file from http://www.slackware.com/
    be wary of strong drink - it may make you shoot at tax collectors, and miss!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    Ok, I went here and downloaded all the slackware 10.1 files. Now what?
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    3,519
    Now burn the image to disk (do not copy the ISO onto a disk)

    If oyu are not sure how to do so here is a link that will give instructions for various softwares.

    After burning it to disk pop into the BIOS and set you computer to boot from the CD as first boot. Press F10 to save the changes. Insert the disk into your drive and reboot the computer. It will now boot from the CD instead of the HDD. Just remeber that it will be slower than your hard drive.
    Ernie

    The difference between perseverance and obstinancy is that one is made from strong will, and the other from strong won't
    Henry Ward Beecher
    Do you have reading problems? Don't let it deter you. This is what YOU can do if you try http://www.erniek.eclipse.co.uk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    3,519
    Now burn the image to disk (do not copy the ISO onto a disk)

    If oyu are not sure how to do so here is a link that will give instructions for various softwares.
    http://www.petri.co.il/how_to_write_iso_files_to_cd.htm

    After burning it to disk pop into the BIOS and set you computer to boot from the CD as first boot. Press F10 to save the changes. Insert the disk into your drive and reboot the computer. It will now boot from the CD instead of the HDD. Just remeber that it will be slower than your hard drive.
    Ernie

    The difference between perseverance and obstinancy is that one is made from strong will, and the other from strong won't
    Henry Ward Beecher
    Do you have reading problems? Don't let it deter you. This is what YOU can do if you try http://www.erniek.eclipse.co.uk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    I doanloaded 4 different files. Do I need to put all 4 on the disc?
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    3,519
    What files did you download?
    Ernie

    The difference between perseverance and obstinancy is that one is made from strong will, and the other from strong won't
    Henry Ward Beecher
    Do you have reading problems? Don't let it deter you. This is what YOU can do if you try http://www.erniek.eclipse.co.uk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    I downloaded the following:

    slackware-10.1-install-d1.iso. . Feb 25 2005 649158k
    slackware-10.1-install-d2.iso. . Feb 25 2005 659618k
    slackware-10.1-source-d3.iso . . Mar 01 2005 680646k
    slackware-10.1-source-d4.iso . . Mar 01 2005 677472k

    Also, any suggestions why Firefox won't let me get to the site linked to in post 9? I've also had problems with firefox connecting to my online bank and trying to subscribe to a magazine- As well as it is now not letting MaCafee update!!!! I'm running Spybot, Ad-Aware, McAfee, and I recently got rid of the Microsoft antivirus software and the free AVG stuff (I thinks that was it's name.) What do you think is up?
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    To The Right Of The Left Coast
    Posts
    2,491
    Burn each .iso to a separate CD. Boot from the first to begin the installation.

    I use FireFox and can connect to that site in post 9 just fine. Your FireFox not connecting could be any number of things. The site may require cookies, java, or whatever.

    I doubt McCafee is using FireFox as an update vehicle...but I could be wrong. If you have FireFox set as your default browser you could "temporarily" set Internet Exploder back to the default and see if McCafee updates.

    Online banks very often require Internet Exploder. Check their requirments on ther site.

    M$ doesn't make, give away, or sell antivirus software...yet. That will soon change.

    AVG is much better than McCafee...leaner, effective, and free.
    Pop Pop
    ===========
    "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."
    Albert Einstein

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    I was thinking of switching when my free 15 month suscription is done. I used to be able to get to my bank, It's just the last week or so that I haven't been able to. I have run all of my antispyware and stuff programs and they havn't found anything. This is the MS program I was talking about. Anyway, I'll try the Linux boot.
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    Gr, that didn't work. . . Now what?
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    To The Right Of The Left Coast
    Posts
    2,491
    The M$ Antispyware product is actually good.

    My telepathic powers are on the fritz today...what didn't work?
    Pop Pop
    ===========
    "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."
    Albert Einstein

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    At my Computer
    Posts
    1,818
    Sorry, I restarted and had it booting to the optical drive. It skipped over that though and booted from the hd. I had the first cd in, and it was an ISO image.
    Apathy: If we don't take care of the customer,maybe they'll stop bugging us.

    Customer Disservice: Because we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

    (Maybe BB's approach?)
    ~Despair.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •