Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: Recomendations for general utility for defrag, virus scanner, registry fixer

Recomendations for general utility for defrag, virus scanner, registry fixer

I have been using System Suite (now from VCom) for the past 5 years, but they have made some changes in V7 I don't like, but still haven't fixed issues from years ago. I'm looking for a replacement for at least these tasks;

1. Defrag program,
    2. Virus scanner,
    3. Registry repair,
    4. Disc repair

Those are my main uses. The Virus definations/updates should be included with free updates (as with System Suite from TrendMicro), not like Norton where you have to pay a yearly sub fee. I have seen/used PC Mechanic (I believe that was the name) and that was really lame. Way too simple and ineffective especially for the defrag program.

I would perfer one program instead of one for each task. And one that isn't bloated as in Norton.
    Suggestions??
    Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!

Quote Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
    I would perfer one program instead of one for each task. And one that isn't bloated as in Norton.
    Suggestions??
    If this is the way you want to go, you will always be disappointed. You are better off with separate products that do the best job...
    No two moments are alike and a person who thinks that any two moments are alike has never lived.

A.J. Heschel

For my XP,
    AVG or Avast
    O&O Defrag 2000 Free & XP defrag in Safe Mode
    Eusing Free Registry Cleaner
    atf-cleaner or CCleaner
    Les