Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: aplus hints

Post aplus hints

Hi there,

I've been lurking on this and other boards for the last few months while I prepared for my A+ exams. Thankfully, today I finally passed my OS exam with an 895 and am officially A+ certified!

Anyway, I got lots of ideas by reading through your posts and just figured I'd post an account of my studying in case it'll help any of you guys.

I studied for the core exam by reading cover to cover several texts (like Exam Cram and Mueller's Upgrading and Repairing PCs) and diving into the PC Guide and not coming out for several weeks. After I felt I had the basics down I went from site to site taking every free and demo practice exams I could find. I carefully took notes on all the areas that were troubling me in the practice exams and reread everything I could find until that stuff was easy too.

I studied for the OS exam by using the same methods but hit a snag when I noticed that most practice exams didn't cover Windows 2000 very well or at all. I got lots of practice with DOS, Win3.x and Win9x but nothing with Windows 2000. So instead of looking for A+OS practice exams, I looked for MCSE Win2000Pro; trust me, there are hundred of these on the Net, and if you can pass these the A+ will be a breeze.