Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Client Access Licensing???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    322

    Client Access Licensing???

    Hi.
    Here is my scenario,
    Suppose i am building a network of five workstations with XP pro installed connected to a server with Windows Server 2003 installed. I am using a router and a switch. I want to understand where do CAL(Client Access Licensing) come into action.

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    10,349
    You have to purchase a license for however many machines you want to connect to that server. This is on the server side and has nothing to do with the clients really.

    I don't know if it works exactly like this for windows servers, but I know there are a lot of companies that will, for instance, to save money buy limited amount of licenses for a VPN. Usually this is fine because not everyone will want to be connected via the VPN at once. But say they have 10 licenses, if an 11th user tries to logon the VPN they will not be able to.

    This is also the reason why you will often see tons of warning to log off properly instead of just closing the VPN or other licensed program. Often if you don't it will still show you as logged in and will not release the license for the next person to use until it times out.

    There are others more familiar with windows servers that can explain the details much better than I can.
    8 Pro 64bit
    AMD FX 8350
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
    24GB GSkill/Corsair 1866MHz
    2x XFX 6870 1GB
    SSD - OCZ V4 128GB/Kingston 120GB
    HDD - 3TB/2x 750GB/500GB/250GB
    Corsair TX850M
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Red
    CM Hyper 212 EVO w/2x SickleFlow 120mm Red
    12x BD-ROM
    Logitech X540 5.1 Surround
    2X Acer 23" LED - Eyefinity: 3840x1080
    Microsoft Sidewinder x4 KB

    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    322
    What i have i understood is all those clients who will be accessing the server should have a license which is the CAL and that license is entered when creating the login. By the way suppose we don't create login like environment, we just share the file, do we need the CAL?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    2,385
    If a client machine accesses the server and is authenticated you need a license for it. If you have 10 client machines buy 10 cals.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    322
    A more precise question, as i have never done that before, at what instance do we enter the CAL exactly?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    2,385
    I would add cals when you see errors in Event viewer saying that you were out of licenses. It depends on if the server was set up as per server or per user and if you have a Volume license agreement. If you are not getting an error saying that you are out of CAL's then I wouldn't worry so much. You can also remove old users and check Licensing under Administrative tools. I always use per server. If you do that you will normally not run in to issues. I see most problems with SBS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    322
    OK.
    I will try that.
    thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •