Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Desktop Icons Question

  1. #1

    Desktop Icons Question

    This is probably the dumbest question ever asked on this board, but you see how the icons have this black background behind the letters:

    http://www.regnow.com/vendor/13032/V...deoDesktop.jpg

    Is there any way of not having any color? Like have it transparent so that it can perfectly merge with the background image?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,512
    yes. there is a way because that is how my desktop is.
    i have no idea how to do it.

    i tried the "properties" dialog box, but could not find any option that made it transparent....
    My Computer:
    DELL XPS 400
    250 GB HD & 80 GB HD and 500 GB HD
    ATI Radeon x1950 256 MB PCIe (upgrading soon)
    OS: Win XP Media Center Edition
    Intel Pentium D 2.79Ghz with 3.0 GB RAM + 15GB pagefile
    DVD-ROM ; CD-RW; floppy
    17" Monitor and 20" Widescreen dual
    Looking to upgrade my PSU to a 650 Watt


    Internet Help Desk

    My City Visit daily!


    we are not unreasonable... i mean, we wont eat your eyes

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eastcoast
    Posts
    722
    I am not 100% sure, but I think you can change that in display properties.

  4. #4
    Yea', that's where it's at. Under the "Appearance" tab in the in Display Properties. But when I go to "Advanced", it only allows me to choose a color. And that's where I'm stuck now.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajmukon View Post
    yes. there is a way because that is how my desktop is.
    i have no idea how to do it.

    i tried the "properties" dialog box, but could not find any option that made it transparent....
    I don't get it...there has to be a way.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,512
    try "icon" under the list.

    i have no color associated with it- do you?
    My Computer:
    DELL XPS 400
    250 GB HD & 80 GB HD and 500 GB HD
    ATI Radeon x1950 256 MB PCIe (upgrading soon)
    OS: Win XP Media Center Edition
    Intel Pentium D 2.79Ghz with 3.0 GB RAM + 15GB pagefile
    DVD-ROM ; CD-RW; floppy
    17" Monitor and 20" Widescreen dual
    Looking to upgrade my PSU to a 650 Watt


    Internet Help Desk

    My City Visit daily!


    we are not unreasonable... i mean, we wont eat your eyes

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajmukon View Post
    do you?
    Nope. On none of the 3 "Icons" choices.

  8. #8
    You can try this:

    Go to Control Panel, System, Advanced, Performance, Settings and check "Show translucent selection rectangle"

    Hope this help...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of the S of Ireland
    Posts
    20,501
    Take nice care of yourselves - Paul - ♪ -
    Help to start using BiNG. Some stuff about Boot CDs & Data Recovery Basics & Back-up using Knoppix.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by SkyTrax View Post
    You can try this:

    Go to Control Panel, System, Advanced, Performance, Settings and check "Show translucent selection rectangle"

    Hope this help...
    Man, you were so close. lol

    Thanks anyway!

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Komski View Post
    Perfect!!!

    Thanks, Paul.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,512
    ... well, i was in the wrong place....
    way in the wrong place...
    My Computer:
    DELL XPS 400
    250 GB HD & 80 GB HD and 500 GB HD
    ATI Radeon x1950 256 MB PCIe (upgrading soon)
    OS: Win XP Media Center Edition
    Intel Pentium D 2.79Ghz with 3.0 GB RAM + 15GB pagefile
    DVD-ROM ; CD-RW; floppy
    17" Monitor and 20" Widescreen dual
    Looking to upgrade my PSU to a 650 Watt


    Internet Help Desk

    My City Visit daily!


    we are not unreasonable... i mean, we wont eat your eyes

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eastcoast
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajmukon View Post
    ... well, i was in the wrong place....
    way in the wrong place...
    Don't feel bad, I was way off also. That is why we have people lile Paul to make things right.

  13. #13
    I just want to know what is the purpose of the "Show translucent selection rectangle" check box if it doesn't do the trick that Anthony1 asked about ???

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of the S of Ireland
    Posts
    20,501
    I just want to know what is the purpose of the "Show translucent selection rectangle" check box if it doesn't do the trick
    The clue is in the word selection. Which of the two attached images has the translucent selection box? It seems to be a pretty minimal embellishment unless one has visual defects.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Take nice care of yourselves - Paul - ♪ -
    Help to start using BiNG. Some stuff about Boot CDs & Data Recovery Basics & Back-up using Knoppix.

  15. #15
    ok,

    thanks Paul,

    i just found that if i disable the Cleartype function in the Display properties, the slow scrolling is gone in folders with a background image...

    Anyway that's weird...

    Windows does strange things.......

    and it's a new installation of Win Xp SP2 on recent hardware.......

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •