Last Updated on
Recent changes to WhatsApp’s privacy and security policies have caused many users to leave the messaging app and move to other messaging app alternatives such as Signal. However, simply switching will not deactivate or delete your account. In order for your account to be deleted you’ll have to do it manually. This article will go over the step-by-step guide on how to delete your WhatsApp account.
How To Delete Your WhatsApp Account
Below we cover the key steps you’ll need in order to delete your WhatsApp Account. Make sure you follow each of these as described, so you can ensure that your account is gone.
Plus we’ve included some key questions from FAQs towards the bottom of the piece. Let’s get into it.
Press the three dots
Open WhatsApp and press the three dots in the top right-hand corner to open the drop down menu.
Go to Settings to access various options for editing your account.
Choose Account, this is where you can edit various privacy settings as well as allowing you to delete your account permanently.
Select ‘Delete my account’
At the bottom of the list, there will be the option to delete your account.
Enter phone number and delete account
Before being able to delete your account you will be required to enter your phone number in full international standard. When the correct phone number has been entered, press the button that says ‘delete my account’. Once done this cannot be reversed.
What Happens When I Delete My WhatsApp Account?
When you delete your WhatsApp account all messages will be deleted, you will be removed from all groups you participate in, your contact information will be removed, and any backups will be deleted. It may take up to 90 days for all information to be deleted from WhatsApp servers.
Can I Temporarily Delete my WhatsApp account?
No, the process cannot be reversed even if it wasn’t done intentionally. So be sure when deleting your account.
What Do My Friends See When I Delete My Account?
When you delete your account your contacts will not be notified. However, your profile picture will be removed, and when they message you only one grey check will appear. This is similar to when you have blocked someone.
Although deleting your WhatsApp account is relatively quick and simple it can take WhatsApp up to 90 days to fully remove all user data which is quite a long time. it will however prevent the collection of any new data in the meantime. When deleting your account you should ensure that it is the decision you want to make as doing so is irreversible and can cause you to lose important messages with others.