Last Updated on
This guide will help you to tell if you’re blocked on Whatsapp. Whatsapp is available for Android and iOS on mobile as well as desktop devices. It is the most popular messaging service on the planet it has over 2 billion users, with 500 million users in India alone. It allows its users to share messages, photos, files, and more with their contacts for free.
However, sometimes users can be a victim of spam or an unwanted person can contact them. Luckily WhatsApp allows people to block unwanted contacts. But sometimes this can lead to people being mistakingly blocked.
When blocked you will not receive a notification, but with this guide, we will go over the ways how to tell if someone has blocked your WhatsApp account
How To Tell If Blocked on WhatsApp – Guide
Check read receipts
When sending messages on WhatsApp and having the feature turned on read receipts can give an insight as to whether you are blocked or not. a single grey tick is an indication that messages aren’t being delivered to the contact.
- Launch Whatsapp
- Enter the chat window of the person who you suspect to have blocked you
- Send them a message
- Hold down the message you’ve just sent
- Press the ‘i’ icon at the top of the screen
- A single checkmark shows that the recipient hasn’t received the message
Check last seen status
Users that are blocked are prevented from seeing a person’s last seen status. However, the user could have simply changed their privacy setting and changed it to ‘Nobody’ or ‘ My contacts’ which is preventing their status updates from being seen.
Check profile picture
Not being able to a contact’s profile photo is another indication that you have been blocked. However, as with the last seen status they may have set it to being shown to ‘Nobody’ or ‘My contacts’
Try adding the user to a group chat
If you try to add the user to a WhatsApp group, and it says you don’t have permission to this is another sign that you are blocked.
- Open WhatsApp
- Press the three dots in the top right-hand corner
- Choose ‘Create new group’
- Tap the participant you think has blocked you
- If they have blocked you it will say that they can’t be added.
Try to WhatsApp Call the contact
If you try to WhatsApp video call or Whatsapp voice call someone who has blocked you the call won’t go through. As with other steps in this guide, it’s not a clear-cut answer as calls on WhatsApp can also fail due to an internet connection.
Blocking is a great feature to deal with harassment or spam but sometimes people can be accidentally blocked. There is no conclusive way to tell if someone has blocked you as WhatsApp doesn’t directly notify you. However, these steps should give a slight clue as to whether you have. If you have another way to contact the user then asking them through that to unblock you can work.