Last Updated on
It is always a good idea to report and block a user on Snapchat if they are harassing you or being unkind. However, if you have decided that you would like to have them back as a friend you will need to know how to unblock them. Our guide will show you how to unblock a user in three easy steps.
When you block someone on Snapchat it limits their access to you and your profile. For example, you will not receive any of their Snaps or messages. Despite this, on the blocked user’s device, they will still be able to send you content.
They will see that their messages have been delivered to you but are left unread. Whereas on your phone, you will not even get a notification or be able to access these Snaps.
Essential AI Tools
Originality AI detector
Interestingly, when you decide to unblock a user on Snapchat, any Snap they did send whilst they were blocked will never be delivered – Ensuring you will never see any hate or inappropriate content.
When you do decide to unblock someone, it is important to note that their profile will be removed from your friends list and it will need to be added again.
We will cover this later in the article. So keep on reading to find out how to unblock a user on Snapchat.
Unblock a friend on Snapchat
If you decide you would like to unblock a user on Snapchat you can do so directly on the app. Thankfully, Snapchat has made it very easy to unblock friends. So without further ado, let’s jump right in.
Open Snapchat settings
In the Snapchat app, tap on your profile icon in the top left corner of your screen. Here you will be able to open the settings section of the app, by clicking on the ‘cog’ icon in the right-hand corner.
In settings scroll down to “ACCOUNT ACTIONS” and find “Blocked”. By tapping on this tab you will be able to see all the users you have blocked in the past. To unblock a user simply tap the “X” symbol next to their name. That’s it, your friend is now unblocked on Snapchat.
When you unblock someone on Snapchat they will now be able to send you Snaps and text. They will also be able to view your Stories and Charms.
You can always block a user again if need be.
Add your friend back
Only do this step if you would like to contact the user again.
When you block someone on Snapchat, they automatically get removed from your friends list. If you want to communicate with them over Snapchat after unblocking, you will have to add them again.
To do so, click on the add friend icon in the top-right corner of your screen. It is shown as a ‘+’ sign and an outline of a person. Here you will need to search for the username of the user you unblocked.
Once you have found them, you will need to click “+ add”. It is still up to the other user to accept your request before you can start sending Snaps again on Snapchat. But once they do, everything will back to the way it was.
Does Snapchat notify an unblock?
You’ll be happy to hear that Snapchat does not notify users that they have been unblocked. However, the user may suspect they have been unblocked if you decide to add them back on Snapchat. This is because Snapchat removes those users from your friends list when you block them. So sending them a new friend request, may arouse suspicion.
Now that was easy, wasn’t it? Unblocking users on Snapchat is a really simple task. It is also very easy to reverse if you change your mind later down the line too.
Here on PC Guide, we have a large variety of Snapchat articles that can help you do other tasks. Why not read How To Change A Password On Snapchat next?