Last Updated on
Discord is a free voice and text chat application that allows its users to communicate privately with each other, which has skyrocketed in popularity in recent years. The service was created by Eric Wolff and Mike Matas back in 2013 and has exploded in recent years to boast over 100 million users worldwide.
Discord is a great way to stay connected with friends and colleagues, but, as with any text or chat app, may sometimes introduce you to users who you would rather avoid; there are sometimes specific users who you may wish to prevent from messaging or chatting with you.
Learning how to make the most of the Block feature is an important part of staying safe on Discord – but it is also useful to be able to establish whether you have been blocked in return. To learn more, read on to learn all there is to know about the Block feature – including how to tell if it has been used on you.
How Can I Block Someone?
While the majority of your interactions on Discord will hopefully be positive, there may be occasions where you wish to prevent contact by a particular user.
In such situations, you can easily do so by clicking the little eye icon next to the name of the user. From here, all you have to do is select “Block” under the new menu.
How Do I Know Whether I Have Been Blocked?
It is also useful to be able to tell whether someone has blocked you on Discord. There are a few potential methods to determine whether you have been blocked, and these include:
Cannot Chat To Or Message The User
The most obvious sign that you have been blocked is if you can no longer chat with or message them. You will not receive a notification, but you will likely notice that there is no send and receive sign when you do try to exchange messages with the other user.
Error Notification Is Received
Whenever you search for that person whom you think may have blocked you, you will likely see an error notification displayed on the screen, and this will inform you that while the other user is accepting your messages, you are no longer able to see their profile – this is a good indicator that you have been blocked by them.
Their Profile Information Is Limited
Another major indication that you have been blocked by someone is that you are no longer able to view their full profile or their bio. Whenever you are blocked by another user, you will also be automatically removed from their friends list, and this will hide their details from you.
You Can’t Send Them A Friend Request
When you are simply deleted, you can still send another friend request to the other user – but this is not the case if you have been blocked. You can tell the difference by using the friend page to search for the Discord Tag and user name of the other party and trying to add them as a friend.
If the two of you share a mutual server, you can also attempt to add them as a friend from here.
If you are blocked from sending a request, then you can be fairly sure that you have been blocked by the other user.
How Do I Know If I Have Been Unblocked?
In some cases, a user who has blocked you may change their mind and reverse their choice.
Send A message Or View Profile
The easiest way to check this out is to try and send them a message or view their profile – if a block has been lifted, then your message will be delivered as usual.
In addition, if you can later see the details of their bio or profile, then you know that you have been unblocked and can continue to communicate with the users.
If you discover that you have been blocked by another user on Discord, your options are fairly limited – the only real choice that you have is to wait and see if the other user decides to unblock you.
If you have mutual friends, you may choose to reach out to them for an explanation, but in the majority of cases, it is a good idea to simply let things lie – the last thing you want is a warning for spam or harassment.