How To Delete a PS4 Account

There are two options for this, and we cover both right below

How To Delete My PS4 Account

Last Updated on

Early Cyber Monday deals are starting to go live on Amazon & Best Buy. Big brands such as Lenovo and Samsung are also starting to offer Black Friday discounts early, with many more to follow.

If you get to the point of deciding you want to delete your Playstation 4 account – whether this is because you have a new console or if you are simply just done with the account and don’t want your account getting into the wrong hands – it is quite easy to do.

First, though, you will have to decide whether you want to delete an account from your Playstation system. Or if you want to close down an account that has PSN access, as the process of doing both is slightly different.

Whichever option you choose, we have a detailed step-by-step guide to follow, so you can delete your Playstation 4 account in no time.

1

Method 1 – Deleting A PS4 account

This method is if you just want to wipe an account from your Playstation without shutting down PSN.

Step

1

Go To Settings

To delete an account this way you jut need your console.

Start by powering up the Playstation, and when you reach the main interface, scroll all the way to the right and click ‘Settings’.

Step

2

Find ‘Login Settings’

From here, there will be a long list of options that you can tinker with to change settings on the console.

Near the top you will see ‘Login Settings’. Click on this to load up a few more options.

Step

3

User Management

Five options will pop up once you are in Login Settings.

The one you’re looking for is ‘User Management’, right at the bottom.

Step

4

Delete User

Finally, click ‘Delete User’ and a list of the profiles on your system will appear.

Simply choose the one you want to delete, click delete, and confirm your choice to wipe the account from your system for good.

2

Method 2 – Deleting A PSN account

Deleting a PSN account connected to Sony’s online network can be done, but will require a bit more of a rigorous process.

To start, this can only be found on the official Playstation website. So ideally you will need access to a computer, laptop, tablet or, mobile device.

Step

1

Support Contact Page

The first step is visiting the official Playstation site and clicking on the ‘Support’ option at the top of the toolbar menu.

This will bring you to Playstation’s main support page.

Step

2

Account And Security

Next, you will be met with a few options.

Click on ‘Account & Security’ in the top left, and when you are directed to the next page click ‘Account Management’ to bring up a small drop down menu.

Step

3

Close An Account

In this menu, click on the ‘Close an Account’ option and it will take you to a page highlighting all the access and entitlements you will lose by shutting down your PSN account.

If you are okay with this and wish to continue after checking this information, scroll to the bottom and press the button to contact Playstation support.

Step

4

Contact Playstation Support

On this final page press the ‘Account & Security’ box and scroll to ‘Change Online ID & Other Account Questions’ to verify the issue.

You will then be prompted to either call Playstation support or speak to them through a live chat to request shutting down your PSN account.

Summary

Deleting a regular account from your Playstation 4 can be done quite quickly and easily, but if you are planning to close down an account on the PSN, always make sure you know the features you will be locked out of first.