How to remove gridlines in Excel – 3 easy methods
Table of Contents
If you want to learn how to remove gridlines in Excel, we’ve got your back.
Gridlines are automatically added to all documents made in Excel. While they make it easier to read through certain documents, there may be instances where you would like to remove them. However, the process of removing gridlines in Excel can be tricky, especially for those who are new to the tool.
This is where we come in. In this guide, we are going to explain how to remove gridlines in Excel using three different methods.
Latest tech deals.
- AMD Ryzenâ„¢ 9 9900X 12-Core - was $499 now $328
- CORSAIR 4000D PC Case - was $124.99 now $75.99
- Hisense 65" Class E6SR - was $549 now $377.99
- Apple 2026 MacBook Air - was $1,999 now $1,799
- Skytech Gaming PC Desktop (9850X3d) - was $4,299 now $3,799
- Apple Magic Mouse - was $79 now $59
- MSI Prestige 16 Flip - was $2,149 now $1,899
- Kotin 9700X Gaming PC - was $2,399 now $2,199
Prices correct as of October 9th, 2026.
How to remove gridlines in Excel through dedicated button
Here’s how you can quickly remove gridlines from your Excel sheet using a dedicated button.
Step
Open the document
Open up the document you would like to edit in Excel.
Step
Go to the View tab
Now, go to the View tab.
Step
Untick the box
To hide the gridlines in Excel, untick the box next to Gridlines. This will be the result:
To bring back the gridlines, you just have to tick this box again.
How to remove gridlines in Excel through fill color
Alternatively, you can also use the fill color option to hide gridlines in Excel.
Step
Go to the Home tab
After opening your sheet, go to the Home tab.
Step
Select the cells
Select the cells from which you want to remove the gridlines. Or, you can select the entire sheet by pressing CTRL + A.
Step
Change the fill color
Now, click on the fill color icon, and select the white color.
This will remove the gridlines from your sheet in Excel.
How to remove gridlines from specific cells
In case you want to remove gridlines from specific cells in Excel, follow these steps.
Step
Select the cells
First, open your document and select the cells.
Step
Go to Format Cells
Next, right-click on the cells, and select Format Cells.
Step
Adjust the settings
Now go to the Border tab, and select Outline and Inside under Presets. Then, select the white color in the Line box.
Once done, click OK, and the gridlines will be gone.
Final Thoughts
In our guide on how to remove gridlines in Excel, we have mentioned a total of three methods. All of them work flawlessly and will help you get rid of the gridlines from your sheet. If you want to remove them from the entire sheet, you can opt for the first two methods. And if you want to make the changes to specific cells only, follow the third method.
Learn more about Excel through these helpful guides: