How To Unblock Someone On iPhone

How To Unblock Someone On iPhone

Last Updated on

Many people block other contacts as a last resort. You may want to block someone who has been unkind or has harassed you. Lots of devices and social media sites allow you to block other people. 

For example, you can use this function on your iPhone. However, it is often better to resolve the issue with them first before blocking them.

Sometimes, you may choose to forgive this person. If so, you may choose to unblock them. How can you do this? Continue reading to find out. 

What Is Blocking?

Blocking means that you have chosen not to see their messages, calls, and notifications anymore. This is an effective way to stop unwanted communication from happening again. 

When you block someone, you will no longer be able to send them any kind of message or call them. They cannot even get in touch with you through text messaging.

Why Block Someone?

You may choose to block someone if they are being rude or mean to you. You may also block someone because they have been harassing you.

It is important to remember that blocking someone does not mean that you hate them. Instead, it just means that you don’t want to talk to them anymore.

You should not feel guilty about blocking someone. After all, their behavior must have warranted it. Blocking someone allows you to have a break from them. The break does not need to be permanent. Instead, it can be temporary. 

1

How To Unblock Someone On An iPhone?

To unblock someone, you must first block them. If you have done this, use these straightforward steps to rectify the problem:

Step

1

Turn On

Turn on your iPhone. Then, head toward the “Settings.” There should be a Settings icon somewhere on your phone. It is often pictured as a cog or gear. Tap on this app.

Step

2

Press Phone Icon

Next, go to “Phone.” This icon should be represented by a green block with a white phone in the center. Tap this button. 

Step

3

Find Blocked Contacts

You will now be met by another list of options. Find “Blocked Contacts” on this list.

Step

4

Press Unblock

Select the contact that you wish to unblock. If you want to unblock multiple people, you will need to go through them individually.

Then swipe left. Next, press “Unblock.” This will be enough to unblock the person. You will now be able to message them and they can contact you. 

2

How To Block Someone On An iPhone?

As mentioned, you first must block someone before you can unblock them. If you are unsure of how to do this, use these simple instructions: 

Step

1

Power Device

Power up your device. Then, go to the “Settings” Icon.

Step

2

Tap Phone

Tap the “Phone” button.

Step

3

Press Recents

From there, press “Recents”. You will find a list of people who have recently contacted you. 

Step

4

Find The Number

From this list, find the phone number that you desire to block. Once you’ve done so, press the Info button next to the number. This is represented by a blue circle with the lowercase letter “i” in the center. 

Step

5

Block Caller

Select “Block this Caller.” After doing so, this caller will be unable to contact you from this number, either via text or phone call. 

However, you should bear in mind that they can use other ways of messaging you, such as social media or e-mail. Luckily, there are ways of blocking people on these platforms. 

They can also use a different number to contact you. If they do so, simply repeat these steps to block them. If this harassment continues, feel free to contact the authorities. 

Frequently Asked Questions

How Can I Block Someone’s Number Without My iPhone?

You can block someone’s number on most phones. Simply visit your carrier’s website. Look for a section called “Caller ID & Text Message Services.”

This will lead you to a set of instructions. You can then block numbers using similar methods to the one described above. 

What Is the Difference Between Blocking And Unblocking People?

When you block someone, it means that you prevent them from contacting you. When you unblock someone, you allow them to continue to contact you.

In many ways, they are opposite functions, since one action stops people from messaging you whereas the other one undoes this function. 

Can Someone Else Block Me?

Yes, blocking is a two-way street. Just as you are capable of blocking anyone who contacts you, they can block you too. Ultimately, this means that it is a fair system. 

Will Someone Who Has Been Blocked Know?

It depends on whether they try to contact you again. People are not notified when they are blocked. However, this does not mean that they won’t be made aware of it. If they do try to contact you, they will know that you blocked them. 

This is because their message won’t go through. If they don’t, they won’t know why they were blocked. You should bear this in mind. It may be somewhat awkward if you block someone who you see all the time. 

Final Thoughts

Overall, blocking someone can be a good idea if you are feeling hurt, triggered, or harassed by someone. It gives you some time away from them. In addition, it prevents them from contacting you. This makes life easier for both parties involved. 

Thankfully, you can also unblock people, allowing you to rebuild your relationship with them.

You might like this

Control acces to your iPhone, while letting others use it

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
at
PC guide

Independent, transparent, rigorous and authentic, our reviews are the most thorough and honest in PC gaming. Learn about our review process.

Leave a Comment