Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: practice test.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    2,282

    practice test.

    Got given this question on a A+ practice test,

    Q.One of the puters you admin for, has a faulty hard drive, how do you check?

    A. Run FDISK from floppy.
    Sometimes your the pigeon, sometimes your the stache.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    HI
    Posts
    859
    Wow if it was me I would just go ask at PCGuide forums No seriously how do you use FDisk? Thanx
    Currently Running:
    AMD 3200+ Venice @ 2.3 GHz(230x10) 1.38V
    DFI NF4 SLi-D
    2x1024MB Corsair Infineon BE-5 @ 230MHz(2.5-3-3-6-1T)
    KDS 19" Flat-screen CRT
    Logitech Z-640 5.1
    Seagate 120GB + WD 80GB
    Sony DVD Burner
    Enermax 600W NoisetakerII
    BFG 7900GT @530/1600

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    160
    Deagle,

    Here's a link to Microsoft's info about the fdisk utility. It is very useful.

    BUT............if you decide to use fdisk, please use CAUTION. You can easily delete everything stored on your harddrive.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...NoWebContent=1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    2,282
    Why would you use FDISK to check for a faulty hard drive?
    Sometimes your the pigeon, sometimes your the stache.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Minn
    Posts
    17,373
    I think the whole point is that you wouldn't....
    Budfred ..... Caveat Emptor....

    Helpful links SpywareBlaster... HijackThis... ATF Cleaner...

    Post a complaint about malware here!!
    So how did I get infected in the first place??

    MS MVP 2006 and ASAP member since 2004...

    If you PM me for help, expect an irritated response... Post in the forum...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Nor'East USA
    Posts
    5,505

    Now I get it...

    True or FALSE!

    Run ScanDisc.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Minn
    Posts
    17,373
    Ooops, I didn't notice that Jiggy had posted the original post. I assumed you knew that was a wrong answer and were pointing out that it was dumb...
    Budfred ..... Caveat Emptor....

    Helpful links SpywareBlaster... HijackThis... ATF Cleaner...

    Post a complaint about malware here!!
    So how did I get infected in the first place??

    MS MVP 2006 and ASAP member since 2004...

    If you PM me for help, expect an irritated response... Post in the forum...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    3,017
    fdisk is good for removing many problems to start over but i dont think ive ever tried to use to check for a faulty hard drive, though i have heard some stories from other techs about its misuse, despite the warnings about data loss.
    "Nuclear war can ruin your whole compile."
    -- Karl Lehenbauer

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    160
    You can display partition and drive information by using fdisk. You can also determine what file system is being used on each partition. Sometimes you may be able to detect a virus attack by viewing this info.

    Also, you can often restore system files and repair the master boot record by using fdisk commands.

    Oh yeah, TRUE...run scandisk first if possible.

    Now, which was the wrong answer? (Seriously. I've been paper-trained by Microsoft courses, so I do need an occassional reality check.)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    2,282
    Thanks for that guys, i just had trouble understanding how FDISK does find a faulty hard driver, papertech answerd most of them.
    Sometimes your the pigeon, sometimes your the stache.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    2,282
    Found this and papertech you had it right, link
    click on the FDISK link bottom of page.
    Sometimes your the pigeon, sometimes your the stache.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •