Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Old mobo dead?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977

    Old mobo dead?

    I've got a spare PIII motherboard laying around. It's a 443BX pulled from a Dell XPS T-series system circa 1999. I have everything for it, (IDE cables, CMOS battery, video card, SD-RAM, Slot 1 processor, etc.), and I plugged it in. When the PSU is connected, the fan spins for a second and stops. Trying to turn it on by either using the power button OR touching the power pins with a screw driver both don't work. The mobo light stays on when power is connected. I know the processor, RAM, PSU, and video card work since I tried those on my PII system (It didn't like the 700MHz processor, but it booted fine). I'm guessing the motherboard is dead? If it is, I want a replacement... I'm on a $30 budget, (XD), and I need: onboard sound, Slot 1 PIII compatible, and 100MHz SD-RAM slots. I got 2x64mb sticks and if I need more RAM, I can always steal from my PII (384mb RAM... half of it is never used). I don't need a case, just the mobo. I was thinking of buying an old Dell Optiplex motherboard on eBay, but I thought I'd figure out first ask you guys for your opinion. I want to use this mainly for an experimentation PC... my PII has almost 50GB of music on it, so I don't mess with that. Thanks!
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    The Mountain State
    Posts
    23,389
    Actually, if it wasn't dead before hand, it probably is dead now...Dells from that era DID commonly have nonstandard power supplies...two or so pins on the standard ATX connector were reversed. So...you plug them into a standard power supply and...how do like you mobo, regular or extra crispy?
    AV, Anti-Trojan List;Browser and Email client List;Popup Killer List;Portable Apps
    “When men yield up the privilege of thinking, the last shadow of liberty quits the horizon.” - Thomas Paine
    Remember: Amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titantic."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    Oh, @$#%! That's what must've happened! I did use a standard PSU and it made a hissing noise, so I just used the original Dell one. Except I never smelled anything burning up and the connector shows no signs of burning.
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    The Mountain State
    Posts
    23,389
    Usually it doesn't...there are several 'micro' fuses...tiny little fuses soldered on the motherboard that go, or the voltage regulator goes before much else is damaged.

    Finding and replacing those fuses it a pain in the posterior. The regulator is is easier to find, and not quite as hard to replace...
    AV, Anti-Trojan List;Browser and Email client List;Popup Killer List;Portable Apps
    “When men yield up the privilege of thinking, the last shadow of liberty quits the horizon.” - Thomas Paine
    Remember: Amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titantic."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    10,462
    What's the part number on the original Dell PSU?
    8.1 Pro 64bit
    AMD FX 8350
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
    24GB GSkill/Corsair 1866MHz
    2x XFX 6870 1GB
    SSD - OCZ V4 128GB/Kingston 120GB
    HDD - 3TB/2x 750GB/500GB/250GB
    Corsair TX850M
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Red
    CM Hyper 212 EVO w/2x SickleFlow 120mm Red
    12x BD-ROM
    Logitech X540 5.1 Surround
    2X Acer 23" LED - Eyefinity: 3840x1080
    Microsoft Sidewinder x4 KB

    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    Model: NPS-200PB -73M
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    10,462
    It's not on my list of Dell's proprietary PSU's (see below). So it should be standard ATX. If in doubt you can always compare the wires to your standard PSU.

    06081
    11vtw
    1728p
    24rgy
    312gk
    3e466
    55078
    55079
    55080
    5554t
    62wtc
    824kh
    8765d
    9228c
    d0865
    m8811
    8.1 Pro 64bit
    AMD FX 8350
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
    24GB GSkill/Corsair 1866MHz
    2x XFX 6870 1GB
    SSD - OCZ V4 128GB/Kingston 120GB
    HDD - 3TB/2x 750GB/500GB/250GB
    Corsair TX850M
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Red
    CM Hyper 212 EVO w/2x SickleFlow 120mm Red
    12x BD-ROM
    Logitech X540 5.1 Surround
    2X Acer 23" LED - Eyefinity: 3840x1080
    Microsoft Sidewinder x4 KB

    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    What do you guys think of this? http://tinyurl.com/5fkxhy

    Integrated sound, network, video... I can throw in 128mb of SD-RAM and can always swap out of my PII if I need more... I have a spare 700MHz processor and if that doesn't work, I can use a 400MHz one... $30.
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    I bought 2 things: A KVM Switch so I can use my monitor, keyboard, and mouse on BOTH computers in my room. Sound isn't an issue since my ACS490 speakers from 1997 are awesome and have 2 outputs. I also bought an Optiplex GX1 mobo: Slot 1 PIII (it says up to 600MHz... think I could try my 700MHz one or should I yank out the 450MHz PII one from my PII). 2 PCI, 2 ISA, onboard sound, video, network, 2xUSB, serial, 1 parallel, and PS/2. What do y'all think?
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    That was quite an adventure. It wouldn't take the 700MHz, so I stuck with the 400MHz one. Installing 98 on it right now... it's pretty sweet. 400MHz PII with 256 mb RAM. Pics:

    http://i34.tinypic.com/r2m5x5.jpg
    http://i35.tinypic.com/1cb9h.jpg
    http://i33.tinypic.com/jt2i4g.jpg
    http://i34.tinypic.com/2qaqphx.jpg
    http://i38.tinypic.com/2zrnhv7.jpg
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    I think this thing fries up my processors. It fried my 450MHz this morning and Windows 98SE hung at start up... only to find it smelled of smoke. It must be the mobo since I ran it out of the box on top of my wooden desk first and it fried my 450MHz one.
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    Woah, I just thought of something. If I put my hand in front of the fan, it blows cool air. Shouldn't it blow cool air toward the processor? Is that what I did wrong>?
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    10,462
    It should be blowing onto the HS, but that would not cause it to fry unless it was already well overheated and a few extra C's put it over the edge.
    8.1 Pro 64bit
    AMD FX 8350
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
    24GB GSkill/Corsair 1866MHz
    2x XFX 6870 1GB
    SSD - OCZ V4 128GB/Kingston 120GB
    HDD - 3TB/2x 750GB/500GB/250GB
    Corsair TX850M
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Red
    CM Hyper 212 EVO w/2x SickleFlow 120mm Red
    12x BD-ROM
    Logitech X540 5.1 Surround
    2X Acer 23" LED - Eyefinity: 3840x1080
    Microsoft Sidewinder x4 KB

    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    Hmm... well, I put the fan on correctly. It seems to be running fine. And to play it safe, I'm running it without a case, just on my desk. It's been on for hours and no smoke/I can touch the heatsink and it feels lukewarm.
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    10,462
    Well, no smoke is good.
    8.1 Pro 64bit
    AMD FX 8350
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
    24GB GSkill/Corsair 1866MHz
    2x XFX 6870 1GB
    SSD - OCZ V4 128GB/Kingston 120GB
    HDD - 3TB/2x 750GB/500GB/250GB
    Corsair TX850M
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Red
    CM Hyper 212 EVO w/2x SickleFlow 120mm Red
    12x BD-ROM
    Logitech X540 5.1 Surround
    2X Acer 23" LED - Eyefinity: 3840x1080
    Microsoft Sidewinder x4 KB

    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    Pretty fast computer. It handles my 7,000 songs faster than the other PII did, which had more RAM. O_O
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    State of New York
    Posts
    3,977
    Okay, little update. I got BOTH PII's running... well, one's a PIII at 466MHz now... I underclocked the non-Dell one to 66MHz bus instead of 100MHz due to stability issues. It runs at 466MHz instead of 700MHz, (mobo supports up to 550). The 466MHz PC is used for older gaming/DOS programs... it has a neat 32mb video card and 256mb RAM. My 400MHz Dell iwth 256mb RAM has 4mb onboard video, no agp slot so I use it to handle my music library. 98 runs great on it. KVM switch comes in handy.

    Here's a pic: http://i37.tinypic.com/20sh9ic.jpg
    IBM ThinkPad T21 - 750MHz PIII, 256mb RAM, XGA, S3 Savage IX8, 40GB HD, Windows 95/NT4
    HP ENVY 15 - i7 4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2GB NVIDIA GT740M, FHD, 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD, 7-64
    Desktop - i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, 2GB AMD 7870, 256GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1TB HD, 7-64


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •