Last Updated on
So you no longer use your Snapchat account? Well, you will be happy to hear that it is actually super easy to delete your account on Snapchat. It is also good practice too. By doing so you are keeping all your personal information safe just in case your account gets hacked or is involved in a data breach.
When you try to delete your account, Snapchat will offer to deactivate your account for 30 days giving you a bit of wiggle room if you change your mind. As long as you do not log back into your account within this period, once the 30 days are up, your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently. You will no longer be able to access your details, friends, and saved snaps anymore.
There are three different methods to delete your account, depending on the device you are using. Keep on reading to find out how to delete your account on Snapchat.
Delete your Snapchat account on iOS
If you are using Snapchat on an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch you can delete your account directly from the app. It only requires a few easy steps. Make sure you know your current Snapchat account password and you’re good to go.
Open Snapchat settings
The first thing you will want to do is open up the Snapchat app. From here tap on your profile icon on the top-left side of your screen.
In the profile section, you will next want to click on the settings icon in the right-hand side corner represented by a ‘cog’ icon.
In settings, you will need to scroll down to the section called “Account Actions”. Here you will find a tab called “Delete Account”.
Tapping this button, it will bring up Snapchat on the web. Snapchat will prompt you to insert your login details. Type in your username and password as normal. If you have forgotten your password you will need to reset it before this step.
Snapchat will next ask you, to enter your login details one more time to verify your account deletion. Once you have done this, that is it! It takes up to 30 days for your account to be completely deleted, giving you enough time to change your mind – just in case.
Delete your Snapchat account on Android
To delete your Snapchat account on an Android device you will need to complete this on the Snapchat website. At the moment, there is no method to delete your account directly on the app. But don’t you worry, this method is just as easy as it is on iOS devices.
Open Snapchat account portal
Open the accounts portal on the internet and log in to your Snapchat account. This will bring up a “Delete Account” window where you will need to insert your login details again and tap “Continue”. And that’s all. Same as the iOS method, you will have 30 days to reactivate your account before it is permanently deleted.
Delete your Snapchat account on the web
Deleting your Snapchat account on the web is exactly the same as it would be on an Android. Follow our quick steps below to remove your Snapchat account.
Open Snapchat account portal
To delete your Snapchat account via the internet you will also need to access the accounts portal. Open this site in your internet browser and proceed to insert your login details.
After this, Snapchat will bring you to the “Delete Account” site where you will have to insert your login details one more time to verify your account deletion.
Once this is done, your account is deactivated for 30 days. After these 30 days are up, your account will be gone forever, unless you reactivate it in this time window.
Can you get your Snapchat account back after deleting it?
Once you have deleted your account, Snapchat will give you 30 days to reactivate your profile to reinstate it. Unfortunately, once this period is over your Snapchat account will be permanently deleted – along with all your data. This also means that other Snapchatters will not be able to find your account and all your saved memories will also disappear.
So there you have it! As you can see it is really easy to delete your Snapchat account. If you enjoy articles just like this, be sure to check out our other Snapchat articles.
- NOW READ How To Unblock On Snapchat