Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: Lost partitions on Hard drive

Angry Lost partitions on Hard drive

I lost the partitions on my hard drive!! I have a Maxtor 20 gig hard drive which I have been using in my computer for about 8 months. I partitioned and formatted the drive using the Maxblast Plus software. I then installed Windows 98. Fast forward to this past Monday. I turned my computer on then I got this message "Verifying DMI Pool Data, Disk Boot failure, Insert System Disk and press enter. I ran the diagnostic software PowerMax.exe that came with the hard drive. The report came back that I have no partitions on the hard drive. I know for a fact that I partitioned and formatted my drive. Basic stuff (well sorta). Can anyone explain what is going here!! I am praying that I do not have to format and partition again. I have my life on my hard drive!!! I know, I know always back up your stuff!!! Is the Maxblast Plus software not reliable?

Blog Entries

Fixing the Master Boot Record may be in order.

Boot to a command prompt using the [F8] key or hold down [Ctrl] while booting. Choose Command Prompt Only. If that doesn't work, use a Windows Start Up disk. At the command prompt type

fdisk_/mbr

using a space in place of the underscore ( _ ) used here. Nothing will appear to happen, and after a few seconds you'll either get another command prompt, or a message saying fdisk couldn't access the drive.

If you get the "couldn't access" message, you'll have to repartition the drive, or possibly use a program like Partiton Magic.

A couple things I'm curious about: