Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: New computer won't power up!

Unhappy New computer won't power up!

Please help think i may have blown the power supply.
    On pressing the on switch with a bare bones set up, I get
    nothing - not even a fan or a light anywhere.

I've purchase the following components:

Epox ERDA+
    AMD 2500 comes with fan and heat sink
    ATX case with 350 switchable power supply.

I installed the chip,heat sink, motherboard into the case, connected the cables from the on switch, connect the fan to the motherboard and the
    power supply to the mother board. This is my first time building a system and followed the instruction from www.mysuperpc.com to the letter.

!!!!
    I must admit switching the power suppy from 230V to the usa 120V and back on the power suppy while it was plugged in! I got a little flash from the P.S unit! I hope i haven't damaged the M.B.

I've got a multimeter and would like to test the power suppy how do i do this?

thanks

Hi ptutty
    I'm certainly no expert and I'm sure one of the much more knowledgeable people will be by soon to help, but I have a very bad feeling that you have fried your PS. Doing anything inside a computer, anything at all, it must be turned off and unplugged from the wall, and you should have at least a wrist strap to guard against static electricity, or ground yourself another way. I sure hope I'm wrong, as I said I'm no expert. Hang in there, someone will be around soon who knows more. LG
    Tell your friends and loved ones what they mean to you, it could be your last chance to do so.

voltage test

i am no coputer expert but testing the psu is a simple electric stuff.