Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: Upgrading my old pc

Question Upgrading my old pc

So I'm upgrading my comp so that new games like BF2 would work with me. I'm pretty new with all this upgrading stuff and I'm thinking about getting a new graphics card and 512 mb more memory for my old comp.
    My comp was bought from Dell, i think 4 years ago(can't remember). The parts are Intel i845e, P4 2 GHz, 512mb of PC 2100(133 MHz)DDR SDRAM and Nvidia Geforce 4200 Ti 64mb.
    My budget is 150 , and the memory is about 50 so it leaves me with about 100 for the GPU.
    Im thinking about getting a Sapphire Radeon 9600 XT 256 Mb. I think it is one of the best GPU's for 100. It doesnt matter to me whether the GPU is Nvidia or Ati.

I live in Finland so you dont need to worry about where i can get it but only about what would be the best part for my budget. And in Finland the prices on computer parts are about the same as the $ price in The US.

So my questions are:

1.) Can the memory be faster than 133 MHz as those 133 MHz ones are hard to come by? And what other things should i consider when getting that memory?

2.)I have only AGP 4x port, does that make a difference? I checked and that sapphire 9600 xt supports also 4x speed but does that make a big difference compared to when running in 8x? Do I need to worry about any bottlenecks when buying the GPU to this old system?

3.) And finally what do you think would be the best GPU for me?

4.) If there is anything else I should know the please tell me about it.