Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: WASD problem for gaming.

  1. #1

    WASD problem for gaming.

    I have been playing oblivion and half-life 2 and the controls I have been using for movement is configured WASD. With oblivion, I don't even know if I have a choice to change it, but anyways this is what the problem is.

    To move my character I often hold down shift + 2 keys so I can run and strafe. I have problems with "D." If I am holding another key down, it doesn't allow me to strafe right with the "D" key. If I am strafing right with "D" it doesn't allow me to add another movement key, such as to move forward or back in addition to strafing.

    Why is this? How would I fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Κύπρος
    Posts
    2,320
    hmm do you have an old keyboard? sounds like all the info doesn't get through
    My Computer

    Parts:
    CPU: Q9450 @ 3.6Ghz(OC'd)1800Mhz FSB
    Mobo: EVGA 780i
    GPU: HD 5870 (I have two but only got one in at the moment)
    PSU: 1000w Corsair
    Ram: 4GB Corsair dominator DDR2 1066Mhz
    Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2
    Monitor: Samsumg 226BW 22" and secondary 17" LCD
    Speakers: logitech Z5400
    Case: Silverstone Tj07


    Water cooling:
    Loop 1: Mobo NB & Mofset with Zalman resorator
    Loop 2: CPU (Ek supreme) with MCP 355 XSPC acrylic top 360 & 240 mm rad


  3. #3
    My keyboard is less than a year old. I think around 6 months old.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    The Mountain State
    Posts
    23,359
    High quality gaming keyboard or just a $20 'special'?
    AV, Anti-Trojan List;Browser and Email client List;Popup Killer List;Portable Apps
    “When men yield up the privilege of thinking, the last shadow of liberty quits the horizon.” - Thomas Paine
    Remember: Amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titantic."

  5. #5
    Well it was $40.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Κύπρος
    Posts
    2,320
    Im thinking it cant send/process all the instructions at once..

    is it wireless?
    My Computer

    Parts:
    CPU: Q9450 @ 3.6Ghz(OC'd)1800Mhz FSB
    Mobo: EVGA 780i
    GPU: HD 5870 (I have two but only got one in at the moment)
    PSU: 1000w Corsair
    Ram: 4GB Corsair dominator DDR2 1066Mhz
    Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2
    Monitor: Samsumg 226BW 22" and secondary 17" LCD
    Speakers: logitech Z5400
    Case: Silverstone Tj07


    Water cooling:
    Loop 1: Mobo NB & Mofset with Zalman resorator
    Loop 2: CPU (Ek supreme) with MCP 355 XSPC acrylic top 360 & 240 mm rad


  7. #7
    No, its has a wire.

    The problem seems bound by the "D" key.
    For example in games I am able to Shift + A + W, or Shift + A + S.

    I cannot Shift + D + W. If I press W first, I only move foward. If I press D first, I only move sideways.

    Although if I am not holding down Shift there is no problem. If I hold down D + W or D + S I move both just as I want.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,512
    does it happen in other games?
    it maybe a glitch in the game..

    or it is a failed keyboard- try popping the keys out (i have no clue how to do that..) and using "canned air" to blow dust off of the circuitry
    My Computer:
    DELL XPS 400
    250 GB HD & 80 GB HD and 500 GB HD
    ATI Radeon x1950 256 MB PCIe (upgrading soon)
    OS: Win XP Media Center Edition
    Intel Pentium D 2.79Ghz with 3.0 GB RAM + 15GB pagefile
    DVD-ROM ; CD-RW; floppy
    17" Monitor and 20" Widescreen dual
    Looking to upgrade my PSU to a 650 Watt


    Internet Help Desk

    My City Visit daily!


    we are not unreasonable... i mean, we wont eat your eyes

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    The Mountain State
    Posts
    23,359
    It is sounding a lot like a failed keyboard to me...
    AV, Anti-Trojan List;Browser and Email client List;Popup Killer List;Portable Apps
    “When men yield up the privilege of thinking, the last shadow of liberty quits the horizon.” - Thomas Paine
    Remember: Amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titantic."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Κύπρος
    Posts
    2,320
    try a few other games then if it still doesn't work..

    you could really do with getting a new one

    go gaming grade the G15 or the RAZER tarantula (i like the G15 more)
    My Computer

    Parts:
    CPU: Q9450 @ 3.6Ghz(OC'd)1800Mhz FSB
    Mobo: EVGA 780i
    GPU: HD 5870 (I have two but only got one in at the moment)
    PSU: 1000w Corsair
    Ram: 4GB Corsair dominator DDR2 1066Mhz
    Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2
    Monitor: Samsumg 226BW 22" and secondary 17" LCD
    Speakers: logitech Z5400
    Case: Silverstone Tj07


    Water cooling:
    Loop 1: Mobo NB & Mofset with Zalman resorator
    Loop 2: CPU (Ek supreme) with MCP 355 XSPC acrylic top 360 & 240 mm rad


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    11,922
    Blog Entries
    2
    Is this keyboard natively PS/2 or USB?

    This is a known-issue for keyboards, although I haven't run into it in quite a few years now. The problem is too many simultaneous key states in relation to physical row/column placements (most often in conjunction with the SHIFT key). It's a documented "feature" of the original keyboard controller and was considered a non-issue until more complex first-person shooters hit the scene around the year 2000. It was at this time that peripheral manufacturers addressed this problem with more advanced embedded processors in their multimedia USB keyboards.

    I first ran into this problem myself in 2001 (when I built my first custom PC) while using a natively PS/2 Logitech keyboard. I upgraded to a USB multimedia Logitech keyboard and I haven't had the problem since (at least on my main gaming rig). This never really crops up unless you're a gamer and happen to need to push SHIFT and W and S and D and R all at the same time! So it's not surprising that it's a little-known issue.

    At this point, despite the $40 cost of your keyboard, I'm wondering if you simply bought a basic keyboard or perhaps a natively PS/2 keyboard OR maybe you got a knock-off brand keyboard. I usually like to stick to Logitech and Micro$oft myself, but that's just my personal preference as a gamer.

  12. #12
    Actually it happens . Due to excess usage it happens with some keys. IF it happens in other games then it is just due to the keyboard and if other games are fine then it is just a game glitch.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •