Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: Need help with file encryption

Need help with file encryption

Im a tech with the USAF and I have a customer that brought in a laptop that he had encrypted files on it with his smartcard. He then came to this base and tried to access the files with the same smartcard, but it is telling him access is denied. Either the encryption became corrupt or the certificates on the card have. Either way I really need to get into these files for him, is there anyway to do this?

Encryption is always a double-edged sword making backup of certs or passwords or data doubly important. I doubt there's anything that can be done.
    Take nice care of yourselves - Paul - ♪ -
    Help to start using BiNG. Some stuff about Boot CDs & Data Recovery Basics & Back-up using Knoppix.

Was the encryption only begun recently, or from way back?

Any images/backups/restore-points from before the point in time when encryption began?

If you did, how many files would not be included in those?

The encryption is probably about4 months old. He said it was working for a short period and then it all of a sudden started telling him access is denied. Only one folder is encrypted, but it has about 150 files within. Do you think it may be a certificates issue? At first when I went into the details of the encryption it was telling his cert was not trusted. So I imported it into the trusted root authority and it started to trust it, but it still gives me acces is denied. Would a system restore fix this problem?