Custom Search
Join the PC homebuilding revolution! Read the all-new, FREE 200-page online guide: How to Build Your Own PC!
NOTE: Using robot software to mass-download the site degrades the server and is prohibited. See here for more.
Find The PC Guide helpful? Please consider a donation to The PC Guide Tip Jar. Visa/MC/Paypal accepted.

Thread: Restoring original start-up

Question Restoring original start-up

I installed a lame desktop theme complete with startup and shutdown splashes that I don't want to see anymore (Friday the 13th....echh!) How can I get back the original Windows startup/shutdown splashes? Since I'm not really good with computers, could I get a step-by-step instruction?

Also, I don't know what an acceptable CPU and system temperature is. I went into setup to see what my computer's current temperatures were. The CPU was 50C/122F and the system temp. was 34c/53f.
    And all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be.

-Pink Floyd

O.K. First do you have Windows98?

If you do then hit the "F3" key on your keyboard and do a search for:

LOGO.SYS
    LOGOS.SYS
    LOGOW.SYS
    ( if you don't see them make sure your "folder options" are set to "Show all files".)

Then rename them to LOGO.SAV,LOGOS.SAV and LOGOW.SAV

Reboot and Windows should go back to using the default spash screens.

If you have Windows 95 again do a "find" on the LOGO files. But this time after renaming them you'll have to find the orginal ones and rename them back to "LOGO.SYS.."

Hope this helps and post back if something isn't clear.