RX 7800 XT release time prediction and availability

When can you get the RX 7800 XT? We take a look

RX 7800 XT release time - three cards lined up

You can trust PC GuideOur team of experts use a combination of independent consumer research, in-depth testing where appropriate – which will be flagged as such, and market analysis when recommending products, software and services. Find out how we test here.

Last Updated on

Attention gamers and tech enthusiasts! The upcoming AMD high-performance GPU RX 7800 XT that you all have been waiting for is all set for a release. Here’s all you need to know about the potential RX 7800 XT release time, expected price, and places to buy RX 7800 XT.

  • UPDATE: Sept 6th, 1:30 am PT – Cards have appeared on retailer sites. Read on below for the details.

RX 7800 XT release time prediction

While we expected the 7800 XT release time to be 6 am PT, which is 9 am ET, or 2 pm BST in the UK, it seems retailers have gone early! We’ve spotted cards available from 1am PT at Amazon and Best Buy, so check out our quick links below for products spotted:

Amazon

Best Buy

AMD announced during Gamescom 2023 that the RX 7800 XT release date would be today, September 6th, 2023, alongside its sibling the RX 7700 XT. But the availability appears to have come earlier than expected. The RX 7800 XT is available for purchase on Amazon and Best Buy, with other retailers expected to follow suit. To help you out we’ve got a dedicated where-to-buy RX 7800 XT page that you can bookmark and keep checking. We’ll be adding the latest cards throughout release day.

SpecsRX 7800 XT
Clock2124 MHz
Boost clock2430 MHz
Compute units60
VRAM16 GB
Memory interface256 bit
Memory speed19.5 Gbps
DisplayPort2.1
AV1 encodingYES
TDP245 W
RX 7800 XT specs

RX 7800 XT price

The RX 7800 XT was believed to be priced at $650-$800, but the RX 7800 XT has a confirmed starting MSRP of $499. This price for the RX 7800 XT is competitive against its competitors, such as the Geforce RTX range, and specifically Nvidia’s RTX 4070, likely overpowering the RTX 4060 Ti 16GB. So AMD has done a good job of posing a question as to which one to go for.

PC Guide thoughts

With features such as high-end performance, promising architecture, and reasonable and competitive pricing, the RX 7800 XT is all set to offer you an unforgettable gaming and computing experience. AMD now has an RDNA 3 GPU lineup that is filled out properly, and the 7800 looks to make a compelling case as a solid option.

Kevin is the Editor of PC Guide. He has a broad interest and enthusiasm for consumer electronics, PCs and all things consumer tech - and more than 15 years experience in tech journalism.